state,required_on_state_dot_work,accepted_training,card_life,reciprocity_notes,source,checked_on Alabama,"Training required, no named card. Contractor must train traffic control personnel and keep records",Contractor's program; ATSSA recognized,Not set,Contractor signs a training certification at preconstruction,"ALDOT Standard Specifications 2022, §740.03(a)7",2026-09-30 Alaska,Yes,"ATSSA Flagger; LIUNA Flagger or Traffic Control Technician; IMSA Work Zone TTC Technician (IMSA not accepted after Dec 31, 2026)",Per issuing program,Must show certification any time on the project,DOT&PF Standard Modification HSM20-45 to §643 (Jan 2024),2026-09-30 Arizona,"Yes, by statute and spec",ATSSA or NSC; other programs need the Engineer's approval,4 years,National cards accepted,"A.R.S. §28-653; ADOT Standard Specifications 2021, §701-3.13",2026-09-30 Arkansas,"No statewide card; ""properly attired and trained flaggers""; the Traffic Control Supervisor must be ATSSA or Arkansas AGC certified",Contractor decides,Not set,New spec book expected 2027,"ARDOT Standard Specification 2014, §603.02",2026-09-30 California,Yes on Caltrans work; Cal/OSHA requires flagger training on every job,"Caltrans-authorized flagger training providers only (since Jan 1, 2022); minimum 4 hours in person, 80% written test plus demonstration",Not stated by Caltrans; ask the provider,Online courses not accepted; a plain national card does not satisfy Caltrans,Caltrans CPD 21-8 and Standard Specifications §12-4.02C(9); 8 CCR §1599,2026-09-30 Colorado,"Yes, by statute",CDOT-approved Flagger Training Entities; ATSSA and NSC cards are valid,2 years (ATSSA/NSC cards are also capped at 2 years in Colorado),Must be 18,C.R.S. §43-5-308; CDOT Flagger Program and Flagger Training Manual (Jan 2026),2026-09-30 Connecticut,Yes,"ATSSA, NSC, Evergreen Safety Council, American Public Safety Association, New England Laborers' Training Academy",Per issuing program,A copy of the certificate goes to the Engineer before work starts,CTDOT Form 818 (July 2023) §9.70.03-2; CTDOT Acceptable Flagger Programs page,2026-09-30 Delaware,"Yes, on all state-maintained roads including utility work",ATSSA classroom or online; OnlineFlagger.com ATSSA course; LIUNA Work Zone Safety Program,Per issuing program,Carry the card and photo ID at all times,"Delaware MUTCD §6E.01; DelDOT ""Acceptable Flagger Certification"" memo",2026-09-30 District of Columbia,Yes on DDOT contracts,"ATSSA, or another agency approved by the District",Per issuing program,Carry the card at all times,"DDOT Standard Specifications 2013, §612.02(B)(2) and §612.21(B)",2026-09-30 Florida,Yes,"FDOT Temporary Traffic Control (MOT) program only: Flagger (Basic), Intermediate or Advanced, from an FDOT-approved provider","4 years; refresher required, full course if expired",A national ATSSA card alone does not count; online not accepted,"FDOT Standard Specifications FY 2025-26, §105-8.3; FDOT TTC Training Handbook",2026-09-30 Georgia,"Yes, on the entire State Highway System including utility and permit work",ATSSA or NSC (the NSC Southeastern Chapter issues the Georgia Flagger Certification Card),Per issuing program (GDOT does not set a term),Online classes not accepted; work is suspended until a certified flagger is provided,"GDOT Policy 5250-1 (reviewed Mar 2022); Special Provision Section 150, §150.3.07",2026-09-30 Hawaii,Required in HDOT traffic-control contracts; no statewide spec clause found,"""Nationally recognized"" flagger certification (ATSSA or NSC)",Within 4 years per contract language,Confirm with the contract,HDOT Highways solicitations (2021); ATSSA state list,2026-09-30 Idaho,Yes,"ATSSA, Evergreen Safety Council or NSC; in-person only since Mar 1, 2024",3 years,"Accepts Montana, Oregon, Utah and Washington DOT cards","ITD memorandum, Jan 31, 2024",2026-09-30 Illinois,Yes,"Agencies approved by IDOT: ATSSA, NSC, Illinois Laborers'-Contractors' Joint Apprenticeship Program; IDOT T2 (public employees)",Not stated in spec,Carry a driver's license or state ID with the card; online not accepted,"IDOT Standard Specifications 2022, Art. 701.13",2026-09-30 Indiana,Partial: flagging must be supervised by the worksite traffic supervisor or an ATSSA-certified flagger; every flagger must be trained,ATSSA or approved equal (for the supervising flagger),Not stated,Employers usually put every flagger through ATSSA anyway,"INDOT Standard Specifications 2024, §801.15(b)",2026-09-30 Iowa,Yes: contractor-issued flagger training card,Contractor training using the free Iowa DOT Flagger Training Materials,Expires Dec 31 of the year after training,Carry the card and show it on request; ATSSA online not accepted,"Iowa DOT Standard Specifications §2528.03,J",2026-09-30 Kansas,Yes,"Any course covering MUTCD Part 6 plus the KDOT Flagger Handbook (KDOT materials, ATSSA)",3 years,Card must show name and training date,"KDOT Standard Specifications 2015, §805.3 j.(1)",2026-09-30 Kentucky,"Yes, proof of training",Training in current MUTCD flagging procedures; no program named (ATSSA recognized),Credentials current within 2 years,Proof available for review on request,"KYTC Standard Specifications 2026, §112.03.01",2026-09-30 Louisiana,"""Qualified"" flaggers required","ATSSA courses, or a course approved by the LADOTD Work Zone Task Force",Not stated,Flaggers are not used on the Interstate,LADOTD Standard Plan TTC-00 general notes (Feb 2025),2026-09-30 Maine,Yes on MaineDOT work,MaineDOT-approved test given by the employer's approved Flagger Certifier; employer-issued card,Not stated,Non-DOT roads: MUTCD-consistent training (23 MRSA §707),MaineDOT Standard Specification §652.4,2026-09-30 Maryland,Yes,ATSSA flagger course by approved ATSSA instructors; Maryland-specific course preferred,4 years,ATSSA training from other states accepted,"MDOT SHA Standard Specifications 2026, §104.15.01",2026-09-30 Massachusetts,"Yes, on all public roads","MassDOT-approved programs (ATSSA, NSC, HazCompliance, UMass Bay State Roads and others); includes First Aid/CPR; 50-question exam, 80%",2 years; refresher in the month before expiry,Must be 18,700 CMR 6.00; MassDOT approved-programs list (Nov 2025),2026-09-30 Michigan,No card; annual training documented by the contractor,"MDOT video ""How to Safely Regulate Traffic in Michigan"" plus the Traffic Regulators Instruction Manual",Annual,ATSSA card useful but not required,"MDOT Standard Specifications 2020, §812.03.G.8",2026-09-30 Minnesota,Yes on MnDOT projects: trained by a MnDOT Qualified Flagger Trainer,MnDOT trainer program only; the trainer signs the card in the flagger handbook,Contractor decides; annual recommended,"Does not accept other states' cards, ATSSA, NSC or online training",MnDOT traffic control special provision; MnDOT flagger training pages,2026-09-30 Mississippi,Yes,ATSSA; industry-association training recognized by MDOT; MDOT training,4 years,Carry proof of certification and ID; ATSSA online not accepted,"MDOT Standard Specifications 2017, §618.03.2",2026-09-30 Missouri,Yes,"Card from an OSHA ""qualified person"" trainer showing trainer, agency and date",4 years,Emergency exemption only,"MoDOT Standard Specifications 2025, §616.4.3",2026-09-30 Montana,Yes,"Montana LTAP; ATSSA; Idaho, Oregon and Washington DOT cards",3 years,"Reciprocity with ID, OR, WA; ATSSA online not accepted","MDT Flagger Handbook (2021), §3",2026-09-30 Nebraska,Yes,"LTAP, NSC or ATSSA course plus the NDOT exam (80%); certification recorded in NDOT's database",2 years,An ATSSA online card alone is not enough,NDOT / Nebraska LTAP Flagger Certification program,2026-09-30 Nevada,Yes,Course conducted or approved by NDOT (Laborers' training programs in Reno and Las Vegas),Not stated,Must be 18 and communicate clearly; ATSSA online not accepted,"NDOT Standard Specifications 2014, §624.03.03",2026-09-30 New Hampshire,Yes,Training by a designated trainer with a card or certificate; UNH T2 offers the ATSSA course,4 years,Employer-trained flaggers must be retrained when they change employers unless they hold their own ATSSA card,"NHDOT Standard Specifications 2016, §618 3.3",2026-09-30 New Jersey,Formal training required; no state card,Any formal flagging training; competency demonstrated to the Resident Engineer on request,Not stated,ATSSA online not accepted on state projects,"NJDOT Standard Specifications §159.03.08 (BDC23S-02, 2023)",2026-09-30 New Mexico,Yes,"ATSSA, Associated Contractors of New Mexico, FHWA or an NMDOT-approved provider",4 years,Wallet card submitted before flagging starts,"NMDOT Standard Specifications 2019, §618.2.1",2026-09-30 New York,"Yes: trained flaggers, and the contractor gives the Engineer a list of certified flaggers","ATSSA, NSC, unions, construction industry associations, or a certified flagger instructor",Not stated,Virtual training accepted,NYSDOT Standard Specifications §619-3.01 L.1,2026-09-30 North Carolina,Yes,NCDOT-approved flagger course only,4 years,Virginia or South Carolina certification gets a 1-year temporary NC certification; virtual not accepted,NCDOT Work Zone Safety Qualification and Training Program (update effective July 2021),2026-09-30 North Dakota,Yes: pass the North Dakota Safety Council written exam,NDSC online flagger training ($10),No formal renewal,Contractor gives the Engineer written verification,"NDDOT Standard Specifications 2025, §704.04 C.5",2026-09-30 Ohio,No statewide flagger card rule,Contractor or owner decides (ATSSA and Ohio Laborers Training available),Not applicable,Many owners still require ATSSA,"ODOT C&MS 2023, §614.08 (silent on certification); Ohio LTAP",2026-09-30 Oklahoma,No spec requirement,Contractor or owner decides,Not applicable,,"ODOT Standard Specifications 2019, §880",2026-09-30 Oregon,Yes,"Oregon Certified Flagger card (ODOT program administered by Chemeketa Community College); Washington, Idaho or Montana cards",3 years,"Must be 18 with a valid driver's license; 4-hour classroom course, 80% exam","ODOT Standard Specifications 2024, §00223.30",2026-09-30 Pennsylvania,Yes,Any course meeting PennDOT's minimum flagger training guidelines; wallet card or employer roster,3 years,No PennDOT-approved-provider list; ATSSA cards are common,"PennDOT Publication 408, §901.3(y); Publication 213",2026-09-30 Rhode Island,Yes,"ATSSA or NSC flagger course, in person only",2 years,,RIDOT Work Zone training policy tables (Sept 2026); RI Standard Spec §914,2026-09-30 South Carolina,Yes,"SCDOT-approved providers: ATSSA, NSC Southeastern Chapter, ITRE, J.M. Teague, Tri-County Technical College, Carolinas AGC instructors",Refresher every 5 years indicated,Training by approved providers' affiliates in other states accepted; 60-day temporary acceptance for other prior training,SCDOT Work Zone Traffic Control Training requirements (2020–2021),2026-09-30 South Dakota,Yes,"SDDOT flagger course and exam (free, online) or AGC",2 years,Must be certified in South Dakota; must be 18,"SDDOT Standard Specifications 2025, §634.3 C",2026-09-30 Tennessee,Yes,"ATSSA, NSC, Tennessee Transportation Assistance Program (TTAP), ABET-accredited university programs, TDOT-reviewed contractor programs",4 years (TTAP),ATSSA online accepted,"TDOT Standard Specifications (Apr 2026), §712.04.A",2026-09-30 Texas,Yes: trained flaggers from TxDOT-approved courses,"TxDOT Material Producer List: TEEX ""Flaggers in Work Zones"", NSC, UT Arlington ""Qualified Flagger Training"", ATSSA-certified instructors, LDI Safety Training",4 years (UTA card; TxDOT does not state a term),Contractor keeps a list of trained flaggers; ATSSA online not accepted,"TxDOT Standard Specifications 2024, Item 7 §7.2.6.5 and Item 502",2026-09-30 Utah,Yes,Course from a UDOT-certified flagger instructor (Utah LTAP delivers ATSSA),3 years,Must be 18; in-house utility certifications only valid for that employer,"UDOT Flagger Handbook (Jan 2025), §3; Standard Specification 01554",2026-09-30 Vermont,Yes,"4-hour course taught by an instructor trained by AGC of Vermont, ATSSA or NSC",2 years,,"VTrans Standard Specifications 2024, §630.04",2026-09-30 Virginia,Yes,"ATSSA Flagger certification (classroom or online) since Dec 31, 2024; VDOT Basic or Intermediate Work Zone cards",4 years,"Accepts ATSSA state-specific cards (NC, MA, CA, CO); flagger must appear in ATSSA's online database",VDOT Flagger Certification memo (Dec 2023); Road and Bridge Specifications §105.14,2026-09-30 Washington,"Yes, on every flagging job (state safety rule)",Washington Traffic Control Flagger Card (Evergreen Safety Council and other approved providers; 8 hours in person),3 years,"Accepts Oregon, Idaho and Montana cards; must be 18",WAC 296-155-305(6); WSDOT Flagging Operations Manual M 3146 (June 2026),2026-09-30 West Virginia,Yes,ATSSA flagger training,Not stated,,"WVDOH Standard Specifications 2023, §636.11.1",2026-09-30 Wisconsin,"Yes, on state highways since Jan 1, 2020","Training per the 2020 Wisconsin Flagging Handbook (4 hours class plus 8 hours field); MnDOT, NSC, ATSSA and Evergreen cards accepted if they cover Wisconsin content",2 years (2-hour refresher),,WisDOT Standard Specifications §104.6.1.2.2; WisDOT flagger certification requirement (2020),2026-09-30 Wyoming,Yes,"Wyoming Flaggers Traffic Control Certification (WYT2 online, $40) or ATSSA",3 years,Three-day grace period in an unplanned emergency,"WYDOT Standard Specifications 2021, §703.4.6",2026-09-30