jurisdiction,line_staff_card_required,who_must_have_it,accepted_training,deadline,card_life,typical_cost,online_accepted,exemptions_notes,cfpm_manager_requirement,legal_basis,source_url,confidence,checked_on Alabama,No statewide rule,none (no food handler card/training mandate for line staff; person in charge must ensure employees are trained),n/a (any ANSI/ANAB food handler course is voluntary),not applicable,not applicable,"not published (voluntary online courses from ~$10, StateFoodSafety Oct 2026)",not stated (no requirement),"Ala. Admin. Code ch. 420-3-22 revised effective Feb 14, 2025 (new Priority Category system): only Priority Category 3 and 4 establishments must have a certified person in charge present during all hours (certification from an accredited program within the previous 5 years, or verified attendance at an accredited course within 12 months); Category 1-2 and temporary establishments exempt; no county/city food handler card programs found","Yes, with exceptions (certified PIC required only at Priority Category 3 and 4 establishments)","Ala. Admin. Code ch. 420-3-22 (Food Establishment Sanitation), eff. 2/14/2025",https://admincode.legislature.state.al.us/api/chapter/420-3-22,Medium,2026-10-02 Alaska,"Yes, statewide","every ""food worker"" - anyone working with unpackaged food, potentially hazardous food or food-contact surfaces (cooks, servers, bartenders, dishwashers, meat cutters)","Alaska DEC Food Worker Card only: pass the DEC exam (online via myAlaska or in person) after paying the $10 test fee; third-party ANSI ""Alaska food handler"" certificates are not listed as substitutes; Municipality of Anchorage issues its own card for Anchorage-regulated facilities and does not accept the state card",within 30 days of hire,3 years,$10 DEC exam fee (DEC page revised 11/19/2025); Anchorage sets its own fee,Yes (DEC online exam system),"exempt: holders of a current valid CFPM certificate; cashiers, grocery checkers, delivery drivers, shelf stockers, warehouse workers, prepackaged-only staff, volunteers, patients/residents and persons assisting them with meals, under-18 school-kitchen helpers; employer must keep card records (18 AAC 31.335); Anchorage = separate municipal card, no reciprocity either way","Yes, with exceptions (18 AAC 31.325: at least one full-time CFPM where unpackaged food is prepared or served; limited/minimal-prep operations exempt; 45 days to replace, 90 days to certify a designee)","18 AAC 31.330 (food worker cards), 18 AAC 31.335 (records), 18 AAC 31.050 (fee), 18 AAC 31.320-.325 (CFPM); AS 17.20",https://dec.alaska.gov/eh/fss/food-worker-card/ ; https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/alaska/18-AAC-31.330,High,2026-10-02 Arizona,Local only (county/city),"varies by county: Maricopa - all food employees; Yuma - food employees (county card); Pima - none (card voluntary since Jan 2017, CFPM required instead); statewide exception: all mobile food unit employees must hold a food handler card or accredited-program certificate (A.A.C. R9-8-110, eff. 7/8/2020)","Maricopa: any ANSI/ASTM E2659-accredited course, a certificate from another Arizona county, or Department-issued training; Yuma: county exam or any valid ANSI card; Pima: county class offered but voluntary; other counties (Mohave, Coconino, Yavapai, Pinal, Gila, Navajo, La Paz) run their own programs - verify locally",Maricopa: within 30 days of starting food-employee duties (before the event for temporary/seasonal); Yuma and others: not stated,Maricopa: 3 years; Yuma: 1 year,"Maricopa: not published (ANSI vendors from ~$10, Oct 2026); Yuma county exam $10; Pima voluntary class $30 + $20 exam","Yes, if ANSI-accredited (Maricopa, Yuma); Pima: county class only and voluntary","State Food Code (A.A.C. R9-8-107, re-adopted 7/8/2020) has no statewide food handler card or CFPM mandate; county cards are generally honored across counties (Maricopa accepts other-county certificates; Yuma accepts other-county and ANSI cards); Maricopa fee waivers for nonprofit volunteers and culinary students; vendor sites still claim Pima requires a card - it does not",No statewide; county-level - Maricopa and Pima require at least one CFPM per establishment (Maricopa: replace within 90 days; exempt if only non-TCS foods),Maricopa County Environmental Health Code ch. VII; Pima County Code 8.08.050 (rev. Jan 2017); Yuma County Health Code; A.A.C. R9-8-110(C) (mobile food units); A.A.C. R9-8-107,https://www.maricopa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5475/Chapter-7---Food-Employees-Certified-Food-Protection-Managers ; https://www.pima.gov/2053/Food-Pool-Certification ; https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/arizona/Ariz-Admin-Code-SS-R9-8-110,"High (Maricopa, Pima, Yuma, state rule); other counties not individually verified",2026-10-02 Arkansas,No statewide rule,none (no food handler card/training mandate; person in charge must ensure employees are trained),n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not applicable,not applicable,not published,not stated,"Statewide CFPM rule took effect Sept 7, 2019; current Rules Pertaining to Retail Food Establishments effective Oct 24, 2022; CFPM exempt: prepackaged-only and non-TCS-only operations as determined by ADH; new establishments get 12 months from permit issuance; no county food handler card programs found","Yes, with exceptions (at least one CFPM per retail food establishment; prepackaged-only and non-TCS-only exempt)",Arkansas State Board of Health Rules Pertaining to Retail Food Establishments §§2-102.11-2-102.12 (eff. 10/24/2022),https://healthy.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/Retail_Food_Establishment_Rule_.pdf ; https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/public-health-safety/food-protection-inspection-portal/food-protection-faq/,High,2026-10-02 California,"Yes, statewide","all ""food handlers"" - employees of a food facility (or organized camp) involved in the preparation, storage or service of food","ANSI/ANAB-accredited food handler course meeting ASTM E2659 (ServSafe, StateFoodSafety, 360training, eFoodHandlers, etc.) - approx. 2.5-hour course, 40-question exam, 70% to pass; Riverside, San Bernardino and San Diego counties run their own pre-2009 programs and require their county card instead",within 30 days of hire,3 years (card follows the worker between employers),statute guarantees at least one course + card at $15 or less; vendors ~$7-$15 (Oct 2026); San Diego/Riverside/San Bernardino county cards priced separately,Yes (statute expressly allows internet/computer courses; no proctor required),"exempt: certified farmers' markets, commissaries, grocery and convenience stores (except separately owned facilities inside them), licensed health care facilities, mobile support units, public and private school cafeterias, restricted food service facilities, pharmacy-majority retail and ticket-majority snack bars, facilities with an approved in-house training program, facilities under a collective bargaining agreement, jails/juvenile facilities, elderly nutrition programs; state card not valid in Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego (local cards); SB 476 (eff. Jan 1, 2024): employer must pay for the course/card and pay the time as hours worked, must relieve the employee of other duties during training, and may not condition hiring on already holding a card; employer must keep card records","Yes, with exceptions (HSC §113947.1: one food-safety-certified owner/employee per facility that serves nonprepackaged TCS food; need not be on site at all times; 60 days to replace; recertify every 5 years; temporary food facilities exempt)","Cal. Health & Safety Code §113948 (as amended by Stats. 2023 ch. 610, SB 476); §§113947.1-113947.3 (CFPM)",https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC§ionNum=113948,High,2026-10-02 Colorado,No statewide rule,none (no food handler card mandate; person in charge must ensure employees are trained),n/a (voluntary ANSI courses; some local health departments offer classes),not applicable,not applicable,not published,not stated,"2025 change: since March 1, 2025 the person in charge at most retail food establishments must be a CFPM (6 CCR 1010-2 §2-102.12(A), adopted Jan 17, 2024 with the FDA 2022 Food Code; rules effective March 16, 2024); only CFP/ANSI-accredited CFPM exams accepted; narrow exemptions for low-risk periods/operations (e.g., bars serving only drinks and low-risk foods); no county food handler cards","Yes, with exceptions (CFPM required at most establishments from 3/1/2025)","Colorado Retail Food Establishment Rules and Regulations, 6 CCR 1010-2 §§2-102.12, 2-102.20 (eff. 3/16/2024; CFPM 3/1/2025)",https://epc-assets.elpasoco.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/18/2024/03/6-CCR-1010-2-Retail-Food-Rules-Regulations_Distribution-Copy_031624.pdf ; https://www.larimer.gov/health/environmental-health/food-safety-program/retail-food-establishment-regulation-changes,Medium,2026-10-02 Connecticut,No statewide rule,none for line staff (no food handler card); employees at Class 2-4 establishments must view the DPH food-allergy poster and confirm in writing that they reviewed it (PA 23-115),n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not applicable,not applicable,not published,not stated,"CFPM required only at Class 2, 3 and 4 food establishments (Class 1 = prepackaged/limited prep exempt); CFPM must be certified by a CFP-recognized accredited program; CGS §19a-36m exemptions: volunteer-run soup kitchens, nonprofit volunteer meals, Older Americans Act congregate meal sites, owner-occupied B&Bs up to 16 occupants, bake sales/potlucks, small residential care homes; PA 23-115: Class 2-4 establishments must post the DPH allergy poster in staff areas and the CFPM must obtain each employee's written confirmation (from March 1, 2024); menu allergy notice from Jan 1, 2025","Yes, with exceptions (Class 2, 3 and 4 establishments only)","Conn. Gen. Stat. §§19a-36i(d), 19a-36m(c); Public Act 23-115",https://portal.ct.gov/dph/food-protection-program/resource-for-food-establishments ; https://www.wallingfordct.gov/Customer-Content/www/CMS/files/CGS_Sections_19a-36o.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 Delaware,No statewide rule,"none (no food handler card; person in charge must ensure employees are trained; if no CFPM is present during all hours, DPH FAQ requires all persons in charge to complete approved food safety training)",n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not applicable,not applicable,not published,not stated,"Delaware Food Code (16 Del. Admin. Code 4458) re-adopted Oct 2025 incorporating the FDA 2022 Food Code; CFPM required since the 2014 code (enforced from April 1, 2016 with 90-day cure); DPH FAQ exemptions: members-only private clubs and private events, very-low-risk establishments under statewide variance; CFPM renew every 5 years; no county/city food handler cards","Yes, with exceptions (at least one CFPM per establishment, §2-102.12; low-risk variances)","16 Del. Admin. Code 4458 (State of Delaware Food Code) §2-102.12, as amended 29 DE Reg. 313 (10/1/2025)",https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title16/4458 ; https://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsp/files/ofpcfpmfaq.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 District of Columbia,No statewide rule,"none for line staff (no food handler certificate); person in charge must ensure employees are ""properly trained in food safety, including food allergy awareness"" (25-A DCMR §202.12)",n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not applicable,not applicable,"not published (CFPM side: DC Health CFPM ID card $35, duplicate $15)",not stated,"Every food establishment must have a person in charge present during all hours of operation and each person in charge must be a CFPM certified by a CFP-accredited program (DC Health accepts ServSafe, NRFSP, 360training, StateFoodSafety, AAA Food Handler, Always Food Safe, FoodSafePal, EduClasses, Responsible Training); the CFPM must also obtain a DC Health-issued CFPM identification card ($35) and renew certification and card every 3 years; no DC food handler card program","Yes, one per establishment (each PIC must be a CFPM with a DC Health ID card; 3-year renewal)","25-A DCMR §§200-203 (DC Food Code, final rulemaking Nov 30, 2012)",https://dchealth.dc.gov/publication/acceptable-organizations-cfpm-examination ; https://dchealth.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/doh/publication/attachments/DC%20Register_Nov_30_2012_Final%20Rulemaking_DOH%20-%2025A%20DCMR%20-%20Food%20and%20Food%20Operationspdf.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 Florida,"Yes, statewide (training, no card)","all food service employees responsible for storage, preparation, display or serving of food at DBPR-licensed public food service establishments (restaurants, caterers, mobile units under ch. 509); separate DOH rule for DOH-regulated venues (schools, institutions, bars/lounges, civic organizations, detention, residential care)","DBPR-approved food service employee training program only: FRLA SafeStaff (division contractor) or a program on DBPR's approved list (approx. 150 vendors and chain in-house programs incl. StateFoodSafety, 360training, ServSafe Florida; list dated Apr 11, 2024; DBPR no longer accepts new program applications); ANSI accreditation alone is not sufficient; employer in-house DBPR-approved programs allowed","within 60 days of employment (DBPR); DOH venues: within 30 days of hire, then annual training by March 31 each year",3 years (DBPR); DOH venues: annual,not published on official pages; approved online courses typically ~$7-$15 (Oct 2026),Yes (DBPR-approved online programs),"no state card - the provider certificate is kept in employer records; in-house approved programs exempt from DBPR electronic reporting; §509.049 applies only to DBPR-licensed establishments - DOH-regulated venues follow 64E-11.012 (manager-led training, roster and curriculum kept 3 years); no statutory change since 2018 (ch. 2018-110)","Yes, one per establishment (Fla. Stat. §509.039 certified food manager, ANAB-accredited exam, 5-year renewal; DOH venues: 64E-11.012 manager certified within 30 days, present at all times if 3+ food employees or highly susceptible population)",Fla. Stat. §509.049 + Rule 61C-4.023 F.A.C. (DBPR); Fla. Stat. §381.0072 + Rule 64E-11.012 F.A.C. (DOH),https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2025/509.049 ; https://flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=20879267&type=1&file=64E-11.012.doc ; https://www2.myfloridalicense.com/hotels-restaurants/food-lodging/food-training/,High,2026-10-02 Georgia,No statewide rule,none (no food handler card; person in charge must ensure employees are properly trained incl. food allergy awareness; the CFSM must offer a training program to all employees),n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not applicable,not applicable,not published,not stated,"DPH Food Service rules (ch. 511-6-1) amended effective Feb 12, 2025; each food service establishment must employ a Certified Food Safety Manager (accredited exam) and has 60 days after initial permit, change of ownership or CFSM departure to replace one; exempt: non-processing mobile units, operations serving only non-TCS or previously prepared foods, temporary establishments; grocery/retail food stores are regulated separately by the Ga. Dept. of Agriculture (ch. 40-7-1); no county food handler cards","Yes, with exceptions (one CFSM per food service establishment; non-processing mobile, non-TCS-only and temporary exempt)",Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 511-6-1-.03(1)-(2) (eff. 2/12/2025),https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/georgia/Ga-Comp-R-Regs-R-511-6-1-.03 ; https://rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/511-6-1,High,2026-10-02 Hawaii,One certified person per shift (no line-staff card),"none for line staff; the person in charge on duty at every food establishment (incl. special-event vendors and homemade-food sellers) must hold a DOH-recognized food handler education certificate - DOH: ""at least one employee present at every food establishment during operational hours"" must be certified","DOH-approved course: free DOH Food Handler Certification class (in person on Oahu or via Zoom statewide) or any ANSI/ANAB-accredited food handler course (ServSafe, StateFoodSafety, 360training, etc.)","before serving as person in charge (rule effective Sept 2, 2017; enforced since Sept 4, 2018)",3 years,"DOH class free; ANSI vendor courses ~$8-$15 (DOH 2018 release: ""typically under $15"")","Yes, if ANSI-accredited (or DOH Zoom class)","only the PIC/one person on duty needs the certificate, so a placed worker who is the only or lead staffer on shift needs it; director may waive for minimal-risk operations (§11-50-20(c)(2)); the Aug 24, 2025 HAR 11-50 update expressly did NOT adopt the FDA 2022 CFPM mandate - DOH keeps the PIC food-handler-certificate plus placarding approach; new 2025 hair-restraint rule for food employees; no county cards",No (CFPM not required; DOH declined to adopt 2-102.12 in the 2025 update),"Haw. Admin. Rules §11-50-20(c) (ch. 11-50 Food Safety Code, amended through Aug 24, 2025)",https://health.hawaii.gov/san/food-safety-education/ ; https://health.hawaii.gov/san/files/2025/09/Food-Code-Changes-08242025-1.pdf ; https://health.hawaii.gov/san/files/2024/11/Ch-50-revision-11.12.2024.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Idaho,No statewide rule,"none (no food handler card mandate; DHW offers a voluntary Idaho Food Safety Exam whose certificate, valid 5 years, is informally called an ""Idaho food handler's card"")",n/a - voluntary: DHW Idaho Food Safety Exam (foodsafetyexams.dhw.idaho.gov) or any ANSI course,not applicable,not applicable,not published,n/a (voluntary DHW exam is online),"Idaho Food Code (IDAPA 16.02.19, eff. 4/6/2023) incorporates the FDA 2013 Food Code; §210 lets the PIC demonstrate knowledge by having no priority violations, passing the Idaho Food Safety Exam, or being a CFPM, but the incorporated §2-102.12 still requires at least one CFPM per establishment (in force since July 1, 2018; minimal-risk establishments may be exempted by the health district); enforced by seven local public health districts; no county food handler cards","Yes, with exceptions (incorporated FDA Food Code §2-102.12; minimal-risk exemptions set by the regulatory authority)","IDAPA 16.02.19 (Idaho Food Code) §§002, 210 + incorporated 2013 FDA Food Code §2-102.12",https://files.dfm.idaho.gov/dfm-admin-website/rules/current/16/160219.pdf ; https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/community-health/food-safety,High,2026-10-02 Illinois,"Yes, statewide","All food handlers (anyone working with unpackaged food, food equipment/utensils or food-contact surfaces) in restaurants AND non-restaurant food establishments (grocery, schools, hospitals, day care, long-term care); exempt: CFPM/food service sanitation manager certificate holders, temporary food-service employees, volunteers","Restaurants: ANSI/ANAB-accredited food handler course (ServSafe, StateFoodSafety, 360training, eFoodHandlers etc.); non-restaurants: ANSI course OR IDPH-approved internal/employer program; certified local health departments may run IDPH-approved programs",within 30 days after employment,3 years (ANSI-course certificates transferable between employers; IDPH-approved internal non-restaurant training not transferable),~$7-$15 online (statute requires at least one approved module at ≤$15 per employee),"Yes, if ANSI-accredited (or IDPH-approved program for non-restaurants)","No state-issued card: employer keeps the certificate on file for inspection; ""restaurant"" = ≥51% of sales ready-to-eat food; enforced since 2014 (P.A. 98-0566), extended to non-restaurants 2016; Risk Category I restaurants must also have a CFPM with ANSI allergen-awareness training (410 ILCS 625/3.07, 3-yr); no 2025-26 changes found","Yes, with exceptions (Risk Category I and II establishments must have a CFPM present during all hours of operation; Category III exempt; Food Code 2-102.12 as adopted in 77 Ill. Adm. Code 750)",410 ILCS 625/3.06 (Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act) + 77 Ill. Adm. Code 750 (Illinois Food Code),https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/041006250K3.06.htm,High,2026-10-02 Indiana,No statewide rule,none for food-establishment employees; exception: home-based vendors (cottage food) must hold an ANSI-accredited food handler certificate (IC 16-42-5.3-7),n/a (voluntary ANSI/ANAB course; required ANSI course for home-based vendors; some county health departments recommend/offer classes),not stated (not required),not stated,not published (ANSI online courses ~$7-$15),"Yes, if ANSI-accredited (voluntary)","Terminology trap: Indiana's ""certified food handler"" rule (410 IAC 7-22) is the MANAGER-level CFPM requirement, not a line-staff card; no county food handler card mandate found; home-based vendor certificate requirement came with HEA 1149 (2022)","Yes, one per establishment with exceptions (at least one ""certified food handler"" = CFPM via CFP/ANSI-accredited exam; need not be present all hours; exempt: establishments only heating/serving precooked foods, continental breakfast, packaged/unpackaged non-PHF only, hospitals, health facilities, nonprofit food pantries)",IC 16-42-5.2 + 410 IAC 7-22-15 (CFPM); IC 16-42-5.3-7 (home-based vendor food handler certificate),https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/indiana/410-Ind-Admin-Code-7-22-15 ; https://www.in.gov/dA/be6be4f727/Indiana-Home-Based-Vendor-Handbook-2.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Iowa,No statewide rule,none,n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"DIAL (Dept. of Inspections, Appeals & Licensing) basic-requirements checklist dated Nov 3, 2025 lists only the CFPM requirement; Iowa adopts 2017 FDA Food Code w/ 2019 supplement; PIC must ensure employee training (Food Code 2-103.11); no county cards found","Yes, one per establishment with exceptions (at least one supervisory employee must be a CFPM; certificate submitted with license application 30 days before opening; ""some exceptions apply"")",Iowa Code ch. 137F + 481 IAC ch. 31 (adopting FDA Food Code 2-102.12),https://ia.foodprotectiontaskforce.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/DIAL-FS-FOOD-EST-BASIC-REQ-2025-11.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 Kansas,No statewide rule,none,n/a (voluntary),not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"Kansas Food Code (K.A.R. 4-28-8, 2023 revision on 2017 FDA Food Code): person in charge must demonstrate knowledge but no card/course mandate; KDA says establishments ""may find employing a manager certified in food protection management helps improve compliance"" (i.e., CFPM not required); no county card mandates found; agriculture.ks.gov blocks automated fetches (403) so verified via WebFetch summaries of KDA pages, not full code text",No (not mandated; CFPM optional per KDA),K.S.A. 65-656 et seq. + K.A.R. 4-28-8 (Kansas Food Code),https://www.agriculture.ks.gov/divisions-programs/food-safety-and-lodging/industry-information,Medium,2026-10-02 Kentucky,Local only (county/city),"none statewide; Lexington-Fayette County: ""all persons working in food service in Fayette County are required to have a valid food handler card"" (certified food managers exempt); a few other local health departments offer classes",Lexington-Fayette: LFCHD online food handler test only (other providers' cards not valid locally); statewide: none (Food Code 2-103.11 PIC must train employees),"Lexington: not stated on LFCHD page (""as soon as possible"")",Lexington: 3 years (per LFCHD-approved vendor page; LFCHD page silent),Lexington-Fayette $23 (LFCHD online test); LFCHD manager certification $85; Oldham County optional handler course $25,County class/online only (Lexington),Lexington-Fayette Board of Health rule dates to 1987 (first KY jurisdiction); Louisville Metro and most counties have no card; KY adopts the 2013 FDA Food Code,"Yes, one per establishment (2013 Food Code 2-102.12 in force since the 2-21-2019 amendment; local HDs date it July 1, 2019; CFPM via accredited exam OR a local health department class)",902 KAR 45:005 (Kentucky Food Code; amended eff. 2-21-2019) + Lexington-Fayette Board of Health regulation,https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/902/045/005/ ; https://www.lfchd.org/food-handler-certification/,Medium,2026-10-02 Louisiana,No statewide rule,none (food handler cards voluntary; LDH FAQ notes a food handler certificate is NOT accepted in place of the manager certificate),n/a (voluntary ANSI courses),not stated,not stated,not published (state Food Safety Certificate for managers: $25 paper / $28.19 online),n/a,"Statewide rule is manager-level: one person (owner, manager or employee) per retail food establishment must hold and post a state-issued Food Safety Certificate (ANAB-accredited 8-hr manager course + proctored exam → LDH certificate, 5 years from exam date, new course+exam to renew); exemptions listed in LAC 51:XXIII; LDH FAQ revised Aug 2025","Yes, one per establishment with exceptions (state Food Safety Certificate, 5-yr)","La. R.S. 40:5.5 + LAC Title 51, Part XXIII, Ch. 3 §305",https://www.ldh.la.gov/assets/oph/Center-EH/sanitarian/retailfood/FSC-FAQs-8-2025.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 Maine,No statewide rule,none,n/a,not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"Statewide rule is manager-level only; Maine Food Code (10-144 CMR ch. 200) PIC must train employees; CFPM exemptions: B&Bs ≤5 rooms, temporary establishments <14 days, prepackaged non-PHF only, sporting/recreational camps ≤90 days, minimal-risk operations; HIP Administration Rule (ch. 201) re-issued eff. June 3, 2024","Yes, with exceptions (eating establishments must employ a CFPM — CFP-approved exam, renew every 5 years; a replacement CFPM must be hired within 60 days of the last one leaving)","22 M.R.S. ch. 562 + 10-144 C.M.R. ch. 201 §2 (Health Inspection Program Administration Rule, eff. 6/3/2024)",https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/sites/maine.gov.dhhs.mecdc/files/Certified%20Food%20Protection%20Manager%20Handout.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 Maryland,No statewide rule,"none statewide (COMAR 10.15.03.14K only requires that each employee ""receives training in proper food handling and sanitation as it relates to assigned duties"" — no card or set course)",n/a (employer training; voluntary ANSI courses),not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"Manager-level cards are COUNTY-issued on top of an ANSI-CFP exam (Baltimore County ID card $35, valid 3 yrs locally; Prince George's $73; Montgomery etc.); PENDING CHANGE: MDH plans to replace COMAR 10.15.03 with the FDA Food Code, which will require a CFPM on-site during all hours of operation at every facility — no effective date set as of MDH fact sheet (Oct 2025)","Yes, with exceptions (certified food service manager on-site during all hours at high- and moderate-priority facilities, enforced through county health codes using the COMAR 10.15.03 priority system; low-priority exempt)","COMAR 10.15.03 (Food Service Facilities) + county health codes; Md. Code Health-Gen. Title 21, Subtitle 3",https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/OEHFP/OFPCHS/Documents/2510_PHA_Food%20Code%20Fact%20Sheet_CommsApproved.pdf ; https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/maryland/COMAR-10-15-03-14,Medium,2026-10-02 Massachusetts,No statewide rule,none (PIC must train employees under Food Code 2-103.11 as adopted in 105 CMR 590),n/a,not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"Statewide rules are manager-level: each establishment must employ ≥1 person in charge who is an on-site manager/supervisor, 18+, and a CFPM (590.002(B)); plus a CFPM on staff must hold a Massachusetts Allergen Awareness certificate (5-yr; 590.011(C); M.G.L. c.140 §6B); CFPM exemptions: temporary nonprofit events, daycare snacks-only, prepackaged non-TCS, satellite feeding sites, elderly meal sites; 60 days (+ up to 60 more) to replace a departed CFPM","Yes, with exceptions (105 CMR 590.002(B)-(E))",105 CMR 590.000 (590.002 CFPM; 590.011(C) allergen awareness) + M.G.L. c.140 §6B,https://www.mass.gov/doc/105-cmr-590-state-sanitary-code-chapter-x-minimum-sanitation-standards-for-food-establishments/download,High,2026-10-02 Michigan,No statewide rule,none (PIC must train employees under the Michigan Modified Food Code),n/a,not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"Statewide rule is manager-level: every food service establishment (except licensed temporary ones), every extended retail food establishment, and food service inside a retail grocery must employ ≥1 managerial employee certified under an ANSI-accredited CFP program (certs typically 5-yr); the allergen-awareness add-on in MCL 289.2129(2) sunset 12/31/2020; no county food handler cards found","Yes, one per establishment with exceptions (licensed temporary establishments exempt)",MCL 289.2129 (Michigan Food Law) + Michigan Modified FDA Food Code §2-102.12,https://www.legislature.mi.gov/Laws/MCL?objectName=mcl-289-2129,High,2026-10-02 Minnesota,No statewide rule,none (PIC must ensure employee training),n/a,not stated,not stated,not published (MDH CFPM certificate $35),n/a,"Statewide rule is manager-level: all food establishments must employ a CFPM holding an MDH-issued CFPM certificate (ANSI-CFP exam → MDH certificate, 3-yr, CE to renew) and display it; exempt: low-risk establishments (Minn. Stat. §157.20), special event food stands, MDA-licensed food vehicles/carts, establishments limited to non-TCS foods or heating pre-cooked items; 60 days to replace a departed CFPM","Yes, with exceptions (Minn. R. 4626.0033)",Minn. R. 4626.0033 (Minnesota Food Code) + Minn. Stat. ch. 157,https://www.health.mn.gov/communities/environment/food/cfpm/require.html,Medium,2026-10-02 Mississippi,No statewide rule,none,n/a,not stated,not stated,not published,n/a,"Statewide rule is manager-level: the permit holder or designee must complete an MSDH-approved manager certification course (Rule 2.2.3 modifying Food Code 2-101.11; in force since 7/1/1998 new facilities, Jan 1999 existing); PIC must be present during all hours; MSDH adopts the current FDA Food Code (2022) by reference; no renewal period stated in rule; no county food handler cards found","Yes, one per establishment (permit holder or designee; PIC present all hours)","15 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 13, Subpt. 75, Ch. 2 (Mississippi Food Code), Rules 2.1.3 and 2.2.3",http://www.sos.ms.gov/adminsearch/ACCode/00000207c.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 Missouri,Local only (county/city),none statewide; Kansas City (KCMO Health Dept): anyone handling food served to the public — establishment must either keep a KC-permitted certified manager present at all times OR have 80% of food-handling staff hold a 3-year KC food handler card; St. Charles County requires a certified manager on duty all hours; St. Louis County/City have their own local manager/handler rules (county site returned 403 — verify directly),"Kansas City: KCHD-approved online courses only (Premier Food Safety, StateFoodSafety), then present the certificate to KCHD within 30 days; elsewhere voluntary ANSI courses",Kansas City: present training certificate to KCHD within 30 days of completing the course (certificates >30 days old require retraining),Kansas City: 3 years,Kansas City $25 (course + card fee); elsewhere not published,Yes (KC: approved online providers only),"Missouri Food Code (19 CSR 20-1.025) does NOT require a certified manager statewide (""the current Missouri Food Code does not require a certified manager""); PIC must demonstrate knowledge and train staff",No statewide (local only: KC manager-present-or-80%-handlers rule; St. Charles County certified manager on duty all hours; St. Louis County/City manager certification),19 CSR 20-1.025 (Missouri Food Code) + KCMO Health Department food code (local),https://health.mo.gov/safety/foodsafety/industryfoods/retailfoods/foodsafetytraining.php ; https://www.kcmo.gov/city-hall/departments/health/online-food-handler-training,Medium,2026-10-02 Montana,No statewide rule,none (no food handler card; PIC must demonstrate knowledge),none required (ANSI food handler course optional),not stated,not stated,not published,not stated,"No county/city food handler cards found; Montana still runs on the 2013 FDA Food Code (ARM adopted 1/1/2015); CFPM phase-in: new licensees 90 days, 45 days to replace a departed CFPM; temporary establishments serving only non-TCS/prepackaged food exempt from CFPM","Yes, one per establishment (ARM 37.110.262 adopting Food Code 2-102.12)",ARM 37.110.260-.262 (adopts 2013 FDA Food Code),https://dphhs.mt.gov/assets/publichealth/FCS/RetailFood/FinalRetailRule.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Nebraska,Local only (county/city),"none statewide; Lincoln/Lancaster County: 100% of food establishment employees need an LLCHD permit (Serve/Clean, Prep/Cook or Restricted/Shift Manager); Douglas County (Omaha): all food service employees need a DCHD food handler permit",county-issued permit after the county's own class or online module and test (LLCHD or DCHD); generic ANSI cards not accepted for the county permits,Lincoln: within 30 days of employment; Douglas: not stated,2 years (both counties),$20 (Lincoln and Douglas County); Lincoln Food Protection Manager permit $30 per 3 yrs,County class only (each county runs its own online course/test),"Statewide: NDA regulates under the Nebraska Pure Food Act, no food handler card; LB245 (emergency clause, eff. 4/29/2025) moved Nebraska to the 2022 FDA Food Code and dropped the former statutory exclusion of 2-102.12, so the CFPM provision is now adopted statewide (NDA pre-opening guidance still words it as ""should""); Lincoln and Omaha also require a manager/FPM permit; employers must keep permit records for inspection (Lincoln)","Yes, one per establishment (2022 Food Code 2-102.12 as adopted by Neb. Rev. Stat. 81-2,244.01 via LB245 2025; Lincoln FPM permit required locally)","Neb. Rev. Stat. 81-2,239 et seq. (Pure Food Act), 81-2,244.01; Lincoln Municipal Code Ch. 8.20 (Lincoln Food Code); Douglas County Food Code","https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-2,244.01 ; https://www.lincoln.ne.gov/files/sharedassets/public/v/2/health-dept/environmental/food-safety/management/fhpermits.pdf ; https://foodhandlers.douglascountyhealth.com/",High,2026-10-02 Nevada,Local only (county/city),"Clark County (SNHD): any person employed in or operating a food establishment (NRS 446.030) must hold an SNHD Food Handler Safety Training Card; Washoe (Northern Nevada Public Health), Carson City and state-DPBH counties: no card",SNHD card only: in-person 20-question test at an SNHD office (free study materials; 70% to pass); online renewal allowed every other cycle; ANSI/online vendor courses not accepted,"SNHD: before starting work (""prior to employment"", SNHD Regs 2-601(A))",3 years,SNHD: $25 new or renewal (fees updated 1/1/2026); $15 late fee; $20 duplicate; $5 retest,No (SNHD in-person test; online renewal only),SNHD exemptions (2-602): staff handling only packaged non-TCS food; guest chefs/trainers working fewer than 7 days in 6 months; registered EHS; supervised school volunteers; an SNHD CFPM card substitutes for the handler card; statewide NAC 446 has no food handler card; Washoe regs (adopted 10/2021) require a CFPM present during all hours or direct supervision of the PIC by a CFPM,"Yes, with exceptions (NAC 446.052: PIC must be a CFPM unless low-risk or temporary establishment; SNHD 2-102.12 and Washoe 040.005 similar)","NRS 446.030; NAC 446.052; SNHD Regulations Governing the Sanitation of Food Establishments (eff. 4/28/2023) 2-601, 2-602",https://www.southernnevadahealthdistrict.org/programs/food-handler-safety-program/ ; https://media.southernnevadahealthdistrict.org/download/ferl/2023/SNHD-2023-Food-Regulations.pdf ; https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-446.html,High,2026-10-02 New Hampshire,No statewide rule,none (PIC responsible for employee training),none required (ANSI food handler course optional),not stated,not stated,not published,not stated,"He-P 2300 adopts the 2017 FDA Food Code; CFPM: within 45 days of the initial licensing inspection, 90 days to replace a departed CFPM; establishments with 5 or fewer food employees on duty need one CFPM on staff who need not be present; He-P 2303.02(a) lists about 19 exempt establishment types (B&Bs, farm stores, pushcarts, non-TCS bakeries etc.); self-inspecting cities (e.g., Manchester, Nashua) enforce locally","Yes, with exceptions (He-P 2303.02)","RSA 143-A; He-P 2301.01(g), He-P 2303.02",https://gc.nh.gov/rules/state_agencies/he-p2300.html,High,2026-10-02 New Jersey,No statewide rule,none; N.J.A.C. 8:24-2.1(c)6 requires the PIC to ensure employees are properly trained for their duties,none required (employer training; ANSI food handler course optional),not stated,not stated,not published,not stated,"CFPM required only for Risk Type 3 establishments (since 1/2/2010), exam from a CFP-recognized accredited program (ServSafe, NRFSP, Prometric etc.); Chapter 24 readopted 12/2021; local boards of health enforce and may add local training ordinances (none verified)","Yes, with exceptions (Risk Type 3 only; N.J.A.C. 8:24-2.1(b))",N.J.A.C. 8:24-2.1 (NJ State Sanitary Code Ch. 24),https://www.nj.gov/health/ceohs/documents/phfpp/Chapter%2024%20w%20Cottage%20Food%20Rules%201-18-22.pdf,High,2026-10-02 New Mexico,"Yes, statewide","all food employees who prepare or handle TCS food in food establishments, temporary and mobile food establishments (7.6.2.8(D)(1) NMAC)","ANSI/ASTM E2659-accredited food handler certificate program (ServSafe, StateFoodSafety, 360training, eFoodHandlers etc.); or an employer training program approved by the regulatory authority in lieu of cards (repeat at least every 3 years; valid only while employed by that employer)","within 30 calendar days of starting work (new hires without a card must get employer safe-food-handling training before handling food, with records kept)",3 years,not state-published; ANSI online courses about $7-$15 (Oct 2026),"Yes, if ANSI-accredited",exempt: CFPMs; employees who do not prepare/handle TCS food (employer must train them); occasional volunteers; temporary-event workers under a certified PIC; charitable feeding organizations; card carried on the employee or copy kept on file by employer; 7.6.2 NMAC amended version (filed 7/25/2025) effective 1/1/2026 adopts the 2017 FDA Food Code (handler-card rule predates it); City of Albuquerque and Bernalillo County run their own inspection programs so confirm local acceptance,"Yes, one per establishment (7.6.2.8(B)(1) NMAC, Food Code 2-102.12 as modified; minimal-risk establishments exempt; variance allows one CFPM for several sites)",7.6.2.8(D)(1) NMAC (adds Food Code 2-104.11 Food handler cards); 7.6.2.7 NMAC definitions,https://www.env.nm.gov/foodprogram/wp-content/uploads/sites/8/2025/07/Amended-7.6.2-NMAC-7.25.25.pdf,High,2026-10-02 New York,No statewide rule,none statewide (10 NYCRR 14-1.73 only lets the permit-issuing official require owner/operator training); NYC: the person managing or supervising a food service establishment must hold a DOHMH Food Protection Certificate and be on premises during all hours of operation (not line staff),"none required for line staff; NYC supervisor: DOHMH Food Protection Course (free online course plus proctored exam at the Health Academy, or in-person course)",not stated (NYC: certificate holder must be on site whenever operating),not stated (NYC certificate never expires),"not published (NYC: online course free, exam $24 plus $0.60 online fee)","not stated (NYC course online, exam in person)","NY State Sanitary Code Part 14 has no handler card or CFPM mandate; NYC Health Code 81.15 (religious/charitable free-food programs exempt from fee); Suffolk County Sanitary Code Art. 13 sec. 760-1340.6 requires a certified person in charge on site; other counties (e.g., Westchester) have their own manager rules (not verified)",No statewide (local: NYC supervisor certificate; Suffolk certified PIC),10 NYCRR Subpart 14-1 (sec. 14-1.73); NYC Health Code 81.15; Suffolk County Sanitary Code 760-1340,https://regulations.justia.com/states/new-york/title-10/chapter-i/part-14/subpart-14-1/personnel/section-14-1-73 ; https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-46200 ; https://www.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/hany/food-protection-course-faq.pdf,Medium,2026-10-02 North Carolina,No statewide rule,none (PIC must ensure employees are trained),none required (ANSI food handler course optional),not stated,not stated,not published,not stated,CFPM: at least one employee with supervisory/management responsibility must be certified through an ANSI-accredited program (rule re-adopted eff. 7/20/2019); exempt: congregate nutrition sites and Risk Category I establishments (10A NCAC 46 .0213); multi-department permits need one designated PIC present during all hours; NC issues no cards,"Yes, with exceptions (15A NCAC 18A .2652)",15A NCAC 18A .2652; 15A NCAC 18A .2650 (NC Food Code),https://cph.dph.ncdhhs.gov/Rules/EnvHealth/15A-NCAC-18A-2652.pdf,High,2026-10-02 North Dakota,No statewide rule,none,none required (ND HHS recommends ANSI/accredited food handler training),not stated,not stated,not published,not stated,"ND HHS: ""Food handler training is not required in North Dakota Food Code but may be required in some areas"" (check local public health units/city ordinances); 2017 FDA Food Code adopted eff. 1/1/2024 with the CFPM provision (2-102.12) deliberately excluded; CFPM recommended for complex menus or vulnerable populations",No (recommended only; local ordinances may require),"N.D.A.C. ch. 33-33-04.1 (ND Food Code, 2017 FDA Food Code as modified, eff. 1/1/2024)",https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/food-and-lodging/food-safety-training ; https://www.hhs.nd.gov/sites/default/files/documents/DOH%20Legacy/FL/F%26L%20PDF/nd-food-code-changes-memo-exception.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Ohio,One certified person per shift (no line-staff card),none for line employees; at least one person in charge per shift must hold ODH Level One (Person-in-Charge) Certification in Food Protection in every Risk Level I-IV food service operation/retail food establishment licensed after 3/1/2010 (all PICs after an outbreak or documented sanitation failure); Risk Level III-IV: at least one supervisory employee with Level Two (Manager) certification,Level One: ODH-approved PIC course (about 2 hours; online providers or local health department classes); Level Two: ODH-approved manager course/ANSI exam (ServSafe Manager etc.) plus ODH certificate; a generic ANSI food handler card does not satisfy Level One unless the provider is ODH-approved,Level One: before acting as PIC on a shift; Level Two: not stated,Level One: no expiration stated in the rule; Level Two: 5 years (ANSI exam cycle),Level One about $6-$15 online (ODH-approved providers) or $10-$25 at local health departments; Level Two course plus exam about $100-$180,"Yes, if ODH-approved (Level One)","Exempt from Level One: holders of ODH Level Two manager certification; temporary, mobile, vending and Risk Level I-II operations exempt from Level Two; OAC 3701-21-25 updated eff. 9/1/2024 and OAC 3717-1-02.4 eff. 9/5/2024; Uniform Food Safety Code also requires employees be trained for their duties incl. allergen awareness","Yes, with exceptions (Level Two for Risk Level III-IV only; OAC 3717-1-02.4)",ORC 3717.09; OAC 3701-21-25(K) (Level One per shift); OAC 3717-1-02.4,https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3701-21-25 ; https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3717-1-02.4,High,2026-10-02 Oklahoma,Local only (county/city),none statewide; Tulsa (Tulsa Health Dept): food employees who serve or prepare food or handle utensils need a THD Food Handler Permit (hosts and prepackaged-only staff exempt); Cleveland County (Norman and Moore ordinances): anyone working where food is handled or served; Oklahoma City/County (OCCHD): no food handler permit requirement found on OCCHD pages,city/county permit only: THD online course plus test ($20; THD states third-party online courses do not qualify); Cleveland County HD online class ($10); generic ANSI cards not accepted for these permits,not stated (Tulsa: valid permit must be in possession while at work; Moore: before hire),3 years (Tulsa and Cleveland County),Tulsa $20; Cleveland County $10; THD manager registration $25,County class only (each health department's own online course),"Statewide OAC 310:257 has no food handler card and no CFPM mandate: PIC may demonstrate knowledge by having no priority violations, being a CFPM, or answering inspector questions; Tulsa requires at least one certified food service manager (ANSI exam plus THD registration, 5 yrs); confirm OCCHD status directly","No statewide (Tulsa: Yes, one certified manager registered with THD)",OAC 310:257-3-2; Tulsa city ordinances/THD regulations; Norman and Moore city codes (Cleveland County),https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/oklahoma/OAC-310-257-3-2 ; https://tulsa-health.org/permits-inspections/food/food-safety-classes-study-guides-and-permits/ ; https://oklahoma.gov/health/locations/county-health-departments/cleveland-county-health-department/services.html,Medium,2026-10-02 Oregon,"Yes, statewide",any person involved in the preparation or service of food in a licensed restaurant or food service facility (ORS 624.570),"OHA-approved food handler test only (state/county online test sites, e.g., orfoodhandlers.com, efoodcard.com, ORLA oregonfoodhandler.com, county programs); cards from other states and generic ANSI handler cards are not accepted; an OHA-approved food manager certificate (renewed every 5 yrs) or REHS registration substitutes (OAR 333-175-0091)",within 30 days of hire,3 years,$10 (statutory cap); $5 duplicate,Yes (OHA-approved online tests),"exempt: workers at intermittent, seasonal or single-event temporary restaurants (one trained person must be present); card valid in every Oregon jurisdiction; no CFPM requirement in ORS 624 (PIC demonstration of knowledge only); no 2025-2026 changes found",No,ORS 624.570; OAR 333-175-0011 to -0091,https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors624.html ; https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/healthyenvironments/foodsafety/pages/cert.aspx,High,2026-10-02 Pennsylvania,No statewide rule,"none for line employees; each licensed retail food facility must have at least one supervisory employee (the PIC, available during all operating hours) holding a nationally recognized ANAB-accredited food protection manager certification","none required for handlers (ANSI food handler course optional); manager: ANAB-accredited CFPM exam (ServSafe, NRFSP, Prometric, 360training, AFS)","not stated for handlers; manager: new facilities 90 days, 3 months to replace a departed certified employee",not stated for handlers; manager certificate 5 years,not published for handlers; CFPM course/exam about $100-$180; Philadelphia city certificate $30 ($50 replacement); Allegheny County course $145 or challenge exam $75,not stated,"Exempt from CFPM: prepackaged-only or non-TCS-only facilities, manufacturers, 501(c)(3)/nonprofit operations, volunteer fire/ambulance, civic/religious groups, booster clubs; jurisdictions with their own certificate programs: Philadelphia (city Food Safety Certificate, at least one certified person on premises at all times), Allegheny County (CFPM on site all operating hours), Bucks, Chester and Montgomery counties, State College Borough; a certified employee can cover only one facility","Yes, one per establishment (with exemptions)",3 Pa.C.S. 6501-6510 (Food Employee Certification Act); 7 Pa. Code Ch. 46 (PA Food Code); Philadelphia Code 6-301,https://www.pa.gov/agencies/pda/food/food-safety/retail-food/food-employee-certification- ; https://www.phila.gov/services/permits-violations-licenses/get-a-license/business-licenses/food-businesses/take-a-food-safety-certification-course/,High,2026-10-02 Rhode Island,No statewide rule,none (no food handler card/training law; only the certified-manager rule),none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,"No state or local food handler cards; RI instead requires a manager certified in food safety; exemptions (R.I. Gen. Laws §21-27-11.8): municipal/nonprofit special events, temporary food service under 6 events a year, vendors serving only commercially prepackaged food, retail stores preparing only cold food, private homes and B&Bs, small private clubs","Yes, with exceptions (at least one full-time certified manager per establishment; two if 10+ FTE food-prep staff; 60 days to replace; R.I. Gen. Laws §21-27-11.6 + RI Food Code 216-RICR-50-10-1 §1.4)",R.I. Gen. Laws §§21-27-11 to 21-27-11.13 + 216-RICR-50-10-1 §1.4,https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE21/21-27/21-27-11.6.htm,High,2026-10-02 South Carolina,One certified person per shift (no line-staff card),none for line staff; BUT the person in charge on duty must at all times hold a food handler certificate from an accredited program or be a CFPM (Reg. 61-25 §2-102.12(B)),"for the PIC: food handler certificate from a program on the SC Dept of Agriculture accredited list (23 programs incl. ServSafe, StateFoodSafety, 360training; CPD Form 2142) or CFPM",not stated (PIC must hold it at all times during operation),"not stated in rule (set by issuing program, typically 3 years)",not published by SCDA; about $7-$15 online from the major accredited providers (Oct 2026),"Yes, accredited programs","Exempt: establishments the Department deems minimal-risk (§2-102.12(C)); temporary food service establishments exempt from §2-102.12(B); retail food program moved from DHEC to the SC Department of Agriculture effective July 1, 2024; no county cards","Yes, with exceptions (one CFPM with supervisory/management authority per establishment, §2-102.12(A); minimal-risk establishments exempt)","S.C. Reg. 61-25 §2-102.12 (S.C. Code §§44-1-140, 44-1-150)",https://agriculture.sc.gov/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Regulation61-25_RetailFoodEstablishments_2024_digital.pdf,High,2026-10-02 South Dakota,No statewide rule,none,none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,"No food handler card statewide or locally; SD requires a certified food service manager (8-hour course + exam; recertify every 4 years, ARSD 44:02:07:98); temporary food service establishments exempt; new establishments must have one before opening; 90 days to replace after ownership change or departure","Yes, with exceptions (at least one person in charge per establishment must be a certified food service manager, ARSD 44:02:07:03)",ARSD 44:02:07:03 and 44:02:07:98 (SDCL ch. 34-18),https://doh.sd.gov/topics/food-lodging-safety/licensure-and-codes/food-service-manager-training/,Medium,2026-10-02 Tennessee,No statewide rule,"none (PIC must ensure employees are ""properly trained in food safety, including food allergy awareness"" for their duties, Rule 1200-23-01-.02(2)(c)(xiii); no card or course mandated)",none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,No food handler card statewide or locally; CFPM is optional: the PIC may instead demonstrate knowledge by having no priority-item violations or by answering inspector questions (Rule 1200-23-01-.02(1)(b)); rule last revised April 2024 and tracks the 2017 FDA Food Code,No (CFPM is one of three ways for the PIC to demonstrate knowledge),Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-23-01 (T.C.A. §68-14-301 et seq.),https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules_all/2018/1200-23-01.20240409.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Texas,"Yes, statewide","all food employees (anyone working with unpackaged food, food equipment/utensils or food-contact surfaces), except the certified food protection manager","accredited food handler course: DSHS-licensed program or ANSI/ANAB-accredited program (ServSafe, StateFoodSafety, 360training, eFoodHandlers etc.); certificate kept on premises",within 30 days of employment (25 TAC §228.31(d); the pre-2021 TFER said 60 days),2 years from issue if no expiration date is printed (25 TAC §229.178),"$7-$15 online (ServSafe $15, StateFoodSafety about $8, Oct 2026); no state price cap found",Yes (DSHS licenses internet programs; ANSI-accredited accepted statewide),"Exempt: CFPM holders; temporary food establishments; local health jurisdictions may not charge a fee or require a local card from holders of an accredited certificate (HSC §438.046); cities may set shorter deadlines by ordinance (DSHS Local Ordinance Registry; vendors cite Fort Worth 7 days, Irving 14, McKinney 15); no 2025-26 change to the handler rule found","Yes, with exceptions (CFPM must be present during all hours of operation, 25 TAC §228.31(b); exempt: prepackaged-only, no exposed TCS food, temporary establishments)",Tex. Health & Safety Code §438.046 + 25 TAC §228.31(d) + 25 TAC §§229.171-229.178,https://www.dshs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/foodestablishments/pdf/GuidanceDocs/TFER-2021_TAC-228_August-2021.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Utah,"Yes, statewide","all food handlers (anyone working with unpackaged food, food equipment/utensils or food-contact surfaces for a food service establishment)","Utah DHHS-approved food handler training provider only (75-minute course + 40-question exam, 75% to pass; classroom, online or blended); generic ANSI cards are not accepted unless the provider is on the state list; the local health department then issues the permit",training within 14 days of hire; permit within 30 days of hire (certificate of completion is good for 30 days to convert at any LHD); renew within 7 days of expiry,3 years; valid statewide,"course about $8-$15 plus local health department permit fee capped at $15 statewide (R392-103-4); e.g., ServSafe Utah $7.95 course + $15 permit = $22.95 (Oct 2026)","Yes, state-approved providers only","Exempt: people handling food at charitable events feeding disadvantaged groups free of charge; certified food safety managers are exempt from the handler permit (R392-103); statute renumbered from §26-15a to §26B-7-413 effective May 3, 2023","Yes, one per establishment (at least one full-time certified food safety manager per site, need not be present all hours; 60 days to replace; Utah Code §26B-7-410; exemptions in §26B-7-411 incl. prepackaged-only vendors, temporary events, licensed health care and child care facilities)",Utah Code §26B-7-413 + Utah Admin. Code R392-103,https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26B/Chapter7/26B-7-S413.html,High,2026-10-02 Vermont,No statewide rule,none,none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,"No food handler card statewide or locally; CFPM optional: PIC demonstrates knowledge by compliance, by being a CFPM, or by answering inspector questions; governing rule is still the Health Regulations for Food Service Establishments effective Dec. 1, 2003; no food-code rulemaking listed on the VDH proposed-rules page as of Sept 2026",No (CFPM is one option for the PIC),"Vermont Health Regulations for Food Service Establishments (eff. Dec. 1, 2003; 18 V.S.A. ch. 85)",https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/document/reg-food-service-establishments.pdf,High,2026-10-02 Virginia,No statewide rule,none,none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,"No food handler card statewide or locally; CFPM required since July 1, 2018 (12VAC5-421-55, last amended Nov. 23, 2022); exempt: establishments serving only non-TCS food, or only reheating/cold-holding commercially processed fully cooked TCS food (no cooling); nonprofit civic, volunteer fire and volunteer EMS operations (Va. Code §35.1-25); VDACS-regulated grocery/retail food stores have a parallel rule (2VAC5-585)","Yes, with exceptions (at least one employee with supervisory and management authority per establishment)",12VAC5-421-55 (Va. Code §35.1-14),https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency5/chapter421/section55/,High,2026-10-02 Washington,"Yes, statewide","all food workers (anyone working with unpackaged food, food equipment/utensils or food-contact surfaces)","Washington food worker card only: state online course + exam at foodworkercard.wa.gov or a local health jurisdiction class (at least 30 minutes of training, 80% to pass); out-of-state or generic ANSI cards not accepted",within 14 calendar days of starting work (may work up to 14 days first if the employer gives food safety training),"first card 2 years; renewal 3 years, or 5 years with documented additional food safety training in the prior 2 years",$10 (WAC 246-217-025),"Yes, foodworkercard.wa.gov only (DOH says other online cards are not valid)","Card is issued by local health jurisdictions but valid anywhere in Washington; exempt: adult family home workers with caregiver training, institutional residents assisting with their own meals, K-12 students helping with school meals","Yes, with exceptions (at least one CFPM on staff since March 1, 2023, WAC 246-215-02107; minimal-risk establishments exempt; 60 days to replace)",RCW ch. 69.06 + WAC ch. 246-217,https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-217&full=true,High,2026-10-02 West Virginia,Local only (county/city),"set by each county health department (e.g., Putnam: all employees who handle food or wash dishes; Brooke: all food service employees; Monongalia: all employees); state law only sets the framework","county health department class, or an online course the county approves (statute lets counties use ANSI or other nationally recognized courses instead of state guidelines; StateFoodSafety cards approved by Kanawha-Charleston and Putnam)",within 30 days of hire where the county requires a card (W. Va. Code §16-2-16); some counties shorter (Brooke: within 1 week),"1 to 3 years, set by county (Kanawha-Charleston issues 1-year and 2-year cards)","county class about $10; county-approved online about $20 (Putnam County, 2026); up to $10 extra for statewide validity","Yes, where the county approves an online provider","Not every county requires a card (statute says ""if required""); a card from one county is valid statewide if the extra fee (max $10) is paid; 64CSR17 Food Establishments rule revised effective April 1, 2023 and still adopts the 2013 FDA Food Code","Yes, with exceptions (64CSR17 adopts FDA Food Code §2-102.12, one CFPM per establishment; county health departments enforce it)",W. Va. Code §16-2-16 + 64CSR17,https://code.wvlegislature.gov/16-2-16/,High,2026-10-02 Wisconsin,No statewide rule,"none (""food handler"" in Wis. Stat. §97.33 only means a restaurant employee who is not the certificate holder; no card)",none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,"No food handler card statewide or locally; restaurants must be operated or managed by a holder of a certificate of food protection practices (CFPM) since Jan. 1, 1995; certificate valid 5 years; small operators (5 or fewer food handlers) may renew via a DATCP-approved refresher course; also required for NSLP school lunchrooms; ATCP 75 (Wisconsin Food Code) applies the CFPM rule to retail food establishments","Yes, one per establishment (operator or manager must be a certificate holder, Wis. Stat. §97.33(1r))",Wis. Stat. §97.33 + Wis. Admin. Code ATCP 75,https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/97/ii/33,High,2026-10-02 Wyoming,No statewide rule,none,none required,n/a,n/a,n/a,n/a,"No food handler card statewide; CFPM is explicitly voluntary: PIC demonstrates knowledge by compliance, answering inspector questions, or ""voluntarily being a certified food protection manager"" (Wyoming Food Safety Rule ch. 1 §10); the 2012 WDA rule is still the current state rule; Teton County adopted its own Food Rule on May 19, 2026 (based on the 2022 FDA Food Code) that contains CFPM sections, so verify locally in Teton and Cheyenne-Laramie, which run their own programs",No (voluntary statewide; Teton County's 2026 rule may require one locally),"W.S. §35-7-123 + Wyoming Food Safety Rule (Wyo. Dept of Agriculture, 2012) ch. 1 §§9-10",https://agriculture.wy.gov/corecode/uploads/document6/uploaded_pdfs/corecode/2012foodrule_939.pdf,High,2026-10-02