On this page
- 1.What this guide covers
- 2.The short version
- 3.TIPS vs ServSafe Alcohol vs a state permit
- 4.Alcohol server training requirements by state
- 5.Big-city cheat sheet
- 6.If you want bar or banquet shifts: what to do this week
- 7.For bars, caterers and venues: ordering crews that are legal to pour on day one
- 8.Quick answers
Bartending and serving drinks is some of the best-paid hourly work in hospitality, and it comes with a second certification question on top of the food handler card: do you need an alcohol server permit, a TIPS card, a ServSafe Alcohol certificate, or nothing at all? The honest answer is "it depends on the state, and sometimes on the city," and the online course companies that sell TIPS and ServSafe Alcohol do not always make that clear.
What this guide covers
This guide sorts it out. We read the current liquor statute, administrative code or liquor-control agency page for all 50 states and Washington, DC (checked October 2, 2026) and put the answer for each in one table: whether on-premises servers and bartenders must be trained, which course or permit counts, how many days you have after hire, how long it lasts, what it costs, and the minimum age to serve and to pour. Below the table you will find a big-city cheat sheet, the difference between TIPS and ServSafe Alcohol, and what to do this week if you want bar or event shifts.
One note before you scroll. "Mandatory" below means the state requires training or a permit for ordinary servers and bartenders at restaurants, bars, hotels and caterers. In many other states the law is "voluntary with an incentive": the licensee gets reduced penalties or a legal defense when its staff are trained, so the employer requires the card even though the state does not. Treat those states as "your employer will ask for it."
The short version
- Seventeen states require every on-premises server or bartender to be trained or permitted: Alaska, California, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina (new in 2026), Tennessee, Utah, Vermont and Washington.
- Fifteen more require it for some people or places: managers and licensees only (DC, Maryland, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Wisconsin's operator license), one trained supervisor per shift (Michigan), bartenders aged 18–20 (South Dakota), caterer staff (West Virginia), or specific counties and cities (Las Vegas and Reno in Nevada, Lincoln in Nebraska, Honolulu in Hawaii, six North Dakota cities, Atlanta-area and other Georgia municipalities, Boston-area licensing boards in Massachusetts, and Arizona when the state director orders it).
- Ten states run a voluntary program with a legal carrot (reduced penalties or a safe-harbor defense when staff are trained): Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, New York, Ohio, Texas and Virginia. In Texas and Florida the card is effectively universal because employers want the protection.
- Nine states have no state program at all: Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky (a voluntary STAR course exists), Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey and Wyoming. Cities in several of them require training by ordinance.
- "TIPS" and "ServSafe Alcohol" are brands, not laws. They are accepted as the approved course in most of the mandatory states (Illinois, Pennsylvania, Washington, Tennessee, Rhode Island, Montana, Indiana, Louisiana, Delaware, Alaska, California with the ABC exam, South Carolina), but New Mexico, Utah, Oregon, Vermont, Honolulu and the Nevada counties require their own state or county course, and Nevada tests you in person.
- Deadlines run from "before your first shift" to 180 days. Before serving: Oregon (since March 31, 2025), Utah (since May 7, 2025), Vermont, Oklahoma (the employee license), Nevada's counties and Lincoln. Thirty days: Alaska, Delaware, New Mexico, South Carolina. Sixty days: California, Montana, Washington, Rhode Island, Tennessee (61). Longer: Illinois and Indiana (120 days), Pennsylvania (6 months).
- Permits last 2 to 5 years. Two: Delaware (from June 2026), Pennsylvania, Tennessee (from 2025), Texas, Vermont, Colorado's voluntary card. Three: California, Illinois, Indiana, Montana, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah. Four: Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada. Five: Oregon, Washington.
- The price is small: free to about $50. State fees are $3 (California exam), $20 (Tennessee), $23 (Oregon), $25 (Vermont), $30 (Oklahoma), $45 (Indiana employee permit) or nothing; courses run $9 to $40 online, and several states (Indiana, Iowa, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia, Hawaii's counties) offer the course free.
- Minimum age to pour is the trap. Most states let an 18-year-old serve at the table, but bartending (mixing or pouring spirits) is 21 in California, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, Utah (21 for any service), Alaska (21 for any service), Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Missouri, Kansas, Alabama, DC and Wyoming. Arkansas, Idaho and Nebraska start at 19; Kentucky at 20.
TIPS vs ServSafe Alcohol vs a state permit
TIPS (Training for Intervention ProcedureS) is a private program now sold through 360training. The on-premises course runs about three hours online and the certificate is good for three years in most states. It is accepted as an approved course in the majority of states that name approved providers.
ServSafe Alcohol is the National Restaurant Association's program (the same family as the ServSafe food handler and manager courses). It is a two-part product: the online course plus a Primary exam (unproctored) or an Advanced exam (proctored). Most states that accept TIPS also accept ServSafe Alcohol; a few, like South Carolina, list both by name.
A state permit is a different thing. In Oregon, Washington, Oklahoma, Tennessee, New Mexico, Indiana, Louisiana and California the law requires a state-issued permit, card or registration, and the training course is only the first step: Oregon tests you through the OLCC, California registers you in the ABC's RBS portal and charges a $3 exam fee, Tennessee issues a TABC server permit after a certified course, Oklahoma issues an ABLE employee license. In those states a bare TIPS certificate does not make you legal to serve.
And some states accept only their own course. New Mexico requires a New Mexico-specific course (minimum 4.5 hours) and rejects the generic national TIPS and ServSafe courses; Utah accepts only DABS-approved trainers; Vermont uses its own Division of Liquor Control seminar; Honolulu runs its own Liquor Commission class; Nevada's Clark and Washoe counties require a state-certified awareness program with an in-person proctored exam. If you plan to work in one of these, buy the right course the first time.
What the card gets you. A server permit is a prerequisite, not a job. Dispatchers fill bar and banquet shifts with the workers who already have the card, the food handler card where the state requires one, and a track record of showing up. See how to get hired fast through a staffing agency for the paperwork that speeds up a first shift.
Alcohol server training requirements by state
How to read the table. Required? is the rule for ordinary on-premises servers and bartenders: "Yes" means every server; "Some" means managers, licensees, certain ages or certain cities; "Voluntary + incentive" means the state rewards trained staff with lighter penalties; "No program" means the state has nothing (cities may). What counts names the state course or the accepted national programs. Deadline · life is how long you have after hire and how long the card lasts. Cost is the state fee plus a typical course price. Age (serve / bartend) is the state's minimum age to serve at the table and to mix or pour. The last column names the statute; the full detail, including exemptions, penalties and source links, is in the data file.
Rules checked on October 2, 2026. The table is split by region. The downloadable file adds who must hold the permit, online acceptance, exemptions and a source link for every row.
Northeast
| State | Required? | What counts | Deadline · life | Cost | Age (serve / bartend) | Notes | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | Voluntary + incentive | DCP-approved seller/server programs (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol) | — · typically 3 years | ~$30–$40 | 18 / 18 | DCP may order training in lieu of a permit suspension | CGS §30-47(b)-(c) |
| Maine | No program (municipal ordinances in some cities) | BABLO-certified programs (B.A.S.I.C., ServSafe Alcohol, TIPS, Rserving) | — · typically 3 years | ~$10–$28 | 17 with a 21+ supervisor present; 21 unsupervised | Portland and Bangor reportedly require certification — verify locally | 28-A M.R.S. §§704, 1202 |
| Massachusetts | Some (no state mandate; local licensing boards condition licenses on TIPS/ServSafe for managers and often all staff) | TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol or equivalent per local board | Per local rule (Springfield: before serving) · typically 3 years | ~$30–$40 | 18 / 18 | Near-universal in practice; check the city or town board | M.G.L. c.138 §§12, 34 |
| New Hampshire | Some (licensee or designated manager completes the NHLC Management Training Seminar; servers not regulated) | NHLC seminar (managers); TIPS/ServSafe voluntary for staff | At initial licensing (~45 days) · not stated | NHLC seminar reported free | 18 / 18 | Documented staff training is offered in mitigation at hearings | Liq 702.11–702.12; RSA 179:23 |
| New Jersey | No program | None state-run; TIPS/ServSafe used; some municipalities require it | — · typically 3 years | ~$30–$40 | 18 / 18 | Dram-shop liability makes training standard practice | N.J.S.A. 33:1-26; 2A:22A |
| New York | Voluntary + incentive | ATAP from SLA-certified schools (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, 360training…) | — · 3 years | No state fee; ~$15–$30 online | 18 / 18 | ATAP proof "may reduce the penalty" for a violation | ABC Law §17(12); 9 NYCRR Part 106 |
| Pennsylvania | Yes, statewide (everyone hired since Aug 8, 2016) | RAMP server/seller training: PLCB classes, approved classroom instructors or approved online providers (360training/TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Rserving); PLCB owner/manager training for managers | 6 months of hire (or within 2 years before) · 2 years | PLCB classes free; online ~$9–$20 | 18 / 18 | Full RAMP certification (50% of staff + 30-day orientation) earns reduced penalties | 47 P.S. §4-471.1; 40 Pa. Code §§5.201–5.207 |
| Rhode Island | Yes, statewide | DBR-certified programs only (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Rserving, STOP Inc., LIQUORexam, A+…); Learn2Serve says it is not valid in RI | 60 days (Pawtucket, Smithfield may require it first) · 3 years | No state fee; ~$15–$40 | 18 / 18 | Servers, supervisors, ID checkers and valets at Class B/C/D/J/N/P licensees | R.I. Gen. Laws §3-7-6.1 |
| Vermont | Yes, statewide | Division of Liquor Control seminar (online or in person) or in-house training by a certified trainer | Before the employee begins serving · 2 years | $25 DLC online seminar; in-house free | 18 / 18 | Licensee keeps signed training records | 7 V.S.A. §213 |
Midwest
| State | Required? | What counts | Deadline · life | Cost | Age (serve / bartend) | Notes | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois | Yes, statewide | BASSET from ILCC-licensed providers (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, 360training and 100+ more) | 120 days · 3 years | No state fee; ~$10–$25 online | 18 / 18 (Chicago: under-21 only in restaurants with approved training) | Servers, bartenders and ID-checkers; certificate transfers between employers | 235 ILCS 5/6-27.1 |
| Indiana | Yes, statewide | ATC Employee Permit + ATC-certified server training (free ATC online course or TIPS, ServSafe, 360training) | Training within 120 days; may work 30 days while the permit is pending · permit 3 years | $45 employee permit ($30 restricted 18–20) + free or ~$10–$20 course | 18 (restricted: dining/banquet areas only) / 21 | Everyone who serves, sells or pours at retail | IC 7.1-3-18-9; IC 7.1-3-1.5 |
| Iowa | Voluntary + incentive | I-PACT (free state online course) or approved third-party programs | — · 2 years | Free (I-PACT) | 18 / 18 | Licensee gets a civil-penalty defense (once per 4 years) if the employee held a valid certificate | Iowa Code §§123.50A, 123.50(5) |
| Kansas | No program | None (free ABC agent visits) | — | ~$8–$40 online (voluntary) | 18 (supervised) / 21 | No statutory incentive | K.S.A. 41-2610; K.A.R. 14-21-9 |
| Michigan | Some (one server-trained supervisor on every shift at on-premises licensees licensed since 1996; 17-year-old servers must be trained) | MLCC-approved programs (TAM, TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Learn2Serve…) | Certification filed within 180 days of licensing · program term (typically 3 years) | ~$9–$15 online | 18 (17 if trained and supervised) / 18 | Keep copies of unexpired cards on premises | MCL 436.1906; 436.1707 |
| Minnesota | No program | None state-run; cities may require TIPS/ServSafe | — | ~$8–$40 | 18 / 18 | No statutory incentive | Minn. Stat. §340A.412 |
| Missouri | No program (voluntary SMART course) | SMART (free state online course) or ATC sessions | — | Free | 18 at 50%+ food venues / 21 | No statutory incentive | RSMo §311.300 |
| Nebraska | Some (statewide voluntary; City of Lincoln requires a server/seller permit; NLCC may order training) | NLCC-approved courses (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Rserving, 360training); Lincoln's approved course | Lincoln: permit before serving · 3 years | Course ~$9–$20; $20 NLCC upload fee when ordered | 19 / 19 | Omaha has no permit; Lincoln does | Neb. Rev. Stat. 53-117.03; Lincoln Code 5.04 |
| North Dakota | Some (statewide voluntary with mandatory mitigation; required by ordinance in Fargo, West Fargo, Grand Forks, Dickinson, Williston, Watford City) | City-approved courses (police classes, TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, online) | Cities: 60–90 days · 3 years | ~$9–$25 | 18 in restaurants (supervised) / 21 | First violation: licensing authority must treat training as mitigating | NDCC 5-02-06; 5-02-10.1 |
| Ohio | Voluntary + incentive | OIU "ASK" program (free, online or in person); TIPS/ServSafe accepted by employers | — | Free (ASK) | 18 / 19 beer, 21 wine and spirits across a bar | Commission weighs training when deciding penalties | ORC 4301.22(A)(3)-(4) |
| South Dakota | Some (18–20-year-old bartenders and pourers must be certified; voluntary for everyone else with penalty mitigation) | DOR-approved nationally recognized programs (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, TAM, SureSell, Rserving…) | Before pouring if 18–20 · program term | ~$8–$40 | 18 / 18 if certified and a 21+ person is on premises (or alcohol under 50% of sales); else 21 | Underage-sale penalties halve when the employee was certified | SDCL 35-2-10.1; 35-4-79.4 |
| Wisconsin | Some (municipal operator's "bartender" license holders and new retail licensees; 18+ staff may serve under a licensed operator's immediate supervision) | Responsible Beverage Server course from a technical college or approved provider (eTIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Rserving, Learn2Serve…) | Before the operator license (provisional available) · course good 2 years; license 1–2 years | ~$10–$35 course + local license fee (Madison $80) | 18 / 18 | Operator license is valid only in the issuing city | Wis. Stat. §§125.04, 125.17, 125.32, 125.68 |
South and Washington, DC
| State | Required? | What counts | Deadline · life | Cost | Age (serve / bartend) | Notes | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Voluntary + incentive | ABC Responsible Vendor Program courses (if the licensee opts in, all staff train) | 30 days (participants) · renews with the license year | $35 licensee surcharge + ~$10–$20 course | 18 / 21 | Certified vendors get mitigation in ABC actions | Ala. Code §§28-10-1 to -8 |
| Arkansas | Voluntary + incentive | ABC Responsible Permittee Program courses | 30 days (participants) · permittee renews yearly | $25 permittee fee + ~$10–$15 course | 19 at restaurants/hotels/clubs, 21 elsewhere | Certification is a mitigating factor in ABC penalties | Ark. Code §§3-4-801 to -807 |
| Delaware | Yes, statewide | Commissioner-approved courses (state DATE classes, ServSafe Alcohol, TIPS, 360training) | 30 days · 2 years (was 4; HB 195, June 10, 2026) | State course ≤$15 + ≤$15 card; private online ~$25–$40 | 18 / 18–20 only under direct 21+ supervision; 21 unsupervised (HB 195) | Staff working 10+ hours a week, on- and off-premises | 4 Del. C. §§1201–1208 |
| District of Columbia | Some (ABC Manager licensees only) | ABCA-approved alcohol awareness providers (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Learn2Serve…) | Before the manager license · 3 years | Course ~$30–$50; manager license $390/3 yrs | 18 / 21 | No server or bartender mandate in the statute | D.C. Code §§25-120, 25-121 |
| Florida | Voluntary + incentive | Responsible Vendor Act training (no state list; TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, Rserving, 360training comply) | 30 days for servers, 15 for managers (participants) · refresher meeting every 4 months | No state fee; ~$10–$25 online | 18 / 18 | Qualified Responsible Vendors are protected from suspension for an employee's first sale to a minor | Fla. Stat. §§561.701–561.706 |
| Georgia | Some (by city/county ordinance: local pouring permits in many municipalities) | Local ordinance names TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol or a police/county class | Per ordinance (Canton: permit before serving, training within 100 days) · permit often 1 year, course 3 | Local permit ~$15–$50 + course ~$10–$40 | 18 / 18 | No state program for on-premises; check the city or county alcohol ordinance for each venue | O.C.G.A. §3-3-24; local codes |
| Kentucky | No program (voluntary STAR course) | Kentucky ABC S.T.A.R. online | — · 3 years | $40 STAR | 20 / 20 (18–19 only supervised, no bartending) | Some local ABC administrators require training | KRS 244.090 |
| Louisiana | Yes, statewide | Responsible Vendor course from ATC-approved providers → ATC server permit ("bar card") | 45 days · 4 years | ~$9–$35 course; vendor pays $50/yr | 18 / 18 | Bartenders, servers, managers and security | La. R.S. 26:931–935 |
| Maryland | Some (statewide: the licensee or one designated employee per license; counties may require all servers) | Comptroller-approved alcohol awareness programs (TIPS, TAM, ServSafe Alcohol); county programs | — · 4 years | ~$25–$45 | County-set; commonly 18 beer/wine, 21 spirits | Montgomery County and others require more — check the local board | Alc. Bev. §4-505 |
| Mississippi | No program | None state-certified; free ABC staff sessions on request | — | Free (ABC) | 18 / 21 | Employee ID cards abolished in 1999 | Miss. Admin. Code Title 35 Pt. II Rule 2.8 |
| North Carolina | Some (the permit applicant/owner must prove seller/server training; employees voluntary) | NC ABC RASP (free online) or approved courses (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, 360training, Rserving) | Applicant before the permit · typically 3 years | RASP free; ~$8–$20 online | 18 / 21 for spirits | Mixed-beverage venues need a 21+ person in charge at all times | 14B NCAC 15B .0113, .0203 |
| Oklahoma | Yes, statewide | ABLE Employee License + ABLE-approved server training (ABLE class, 360training, A+, ACE, TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol) | License before working; training certificate uploaded within 14 days · 3 years | $30 + $3.50 license fee + ~$10–$30 course; Event Bartender license $50 | 18 (pour beer/wine, serve pre-mixed cocktails) / 21 | New Event Bartender license (HB 2369, 2025); ABLE stops its own classes after Dec 2026 | 37A O.S. §2-121 |
| South Carolina | Yes, statewide (new: effective Jan 1, 2026; enforced from March 2, 2026) | SCDOR-recognized online programs (ServSafe Alcohol, 360training, Rserving, A+, LIQUORexam/ProServe, Serving Alcohol Inc. and others) → SCDOR certificate | 30 days of hire (existing staff by March 2, 2026) · 3 years | SCDOR certificate free; course capped at $50 (typically $15–$35) | 18 / 21 | Servers working 10+ hours a week plus managers; $100 penalty per uncertified server | S.C. Code §§61-3-100 to -140 (H.3430, 2025) |
| Tennessee | Yes, statewide (liquor-by-the-drink licensees) | TABC server permit after a TABC-certified alcohol awareness course (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, A+, ABC Server Training…) | 61 days of hire · 2 years (permits issued from Jan 1, 2025; older ones 5) | $20 TABC permit + ~$25–$40 course | 18 / 18 | Criminal-history disqualifiers; beer-only permits (local beer boards) not covered | Tenn. Code §57-3-704; Rule 0100-08 |
| Texas | Voluntary + incentive (safe harbor; nearly every employer requires it) | TABC seller-server certification from TABC-approved schools (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, 360training, dozens of $9–$15 online schools) | Not required; 30 days of hire for the employer's safe harbor · 2 years | No TABC fee; $9–$15 online | 18 / 18 | Safe harbor (§106.14) protects the licensee from an employee's illegal sale if staff are certified within 30 days | Alco. Bev. Code §106.14; 16 TAC ch. 50 |
| Virginia | Voluntary + incentive | Virginia ABC MART (managers) and RSVP (servers), free; STAP-approved third-party courses (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol) | Not required (training in the prior 12 months counts) · — | Free (ABC) | 18 / 21 | Reduced suspension and civil penalty when staff were trained within 12 months of a violation | Va. Code §4.1-227(E); §4.1-307 |
| West Virginia | Some (private caterer serving staff only) | Certified training (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol) for caterer staff; no state course | Before serving (caterers) · not stated | ~$10–$40 | 16 with 21+ supervision at private clubs | No general server-training law | W. Va. Code §60-7-2; §60-7-12 |
West
| State | Required? | What counts | Deadline · life | Cost | Age (serve / bartend) | Notes | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | Yes, statewide | ABC Board-approved courses: TAP (Alaska CHARR), TIPS, Rserving | 30 days · 3 years | No state fee; TAP class $50–$65 | 21 / 21 (18–20 may not serve alcohol) | Card carried on your person | AS 04.21.025; 3 AAC 305.700 |
| Arizona | Some (only when the DLLC Director orders it or a city requires it; most employers require it anyway) | DLLC-approved Title 4 Basic and Management courses | When ordered · 3 years | ~$16–$35 online | 18 / 18 | Phoenix/Maricopa employers routinely require Title 4 Basic | A.R.S. §4-112(G)(2); R19-1-103 |
| California | Yes, statewide | ABC RBS: accredited course (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, 360training, Rserving…) + ABC exam in the RBS portal | 60 days (exam within 30 days of the course) · 3 years | $3 ABC exam + ~$10–$30 course | 18 in the food area / 21 to bartend | Servers and managers at on-sale licensees; courses in 5 languages | Bus. & Prof. Code §§25680–25686 |
| Colorado | Voluntary + incentive | LED-approved Responsible Vendor trainers, classroom or live-streamed only | 90 days (for Responsible Vendor status) · 2 years | No state fee; trainer-set | 18 (21+ supervisor on site) / 18 | Responsible Vendor status is a mandatory mitigating factor; self-paced online NOT accepted | C.R.S. §§44-3-1001 to -1002 |
| Hawaii | Some (county liquor commissions: managers and bartenders in Honolulu; managers/person-in-charge on Maui, Hawaii and Kauai) | County-run training only (Honolulu Liquor Commission class + online test); TIPS/ServSafe not a substitute | Before working as manager/bartender · Honolulu card 4 years, Kauai/Hawaii 5 | Honolulu card $10; Hawaii County $2; training free or nominal | 18–20 with supervision / — | Rules differ by island; carry the county card at work | HRS ch. 281; county rules |
| Idaho | No program | None (ISP ABC offers free classes; TIPS/ServSafe voluntary) | — | Free ISP class; ~$10–$30 online | 19 / 19 | Some cities require training by ordinance | Idaho Code Title 23 (no mandate) |
| Montana | Yes, statewide | Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service (RASS): state-certified trainers or 10 approved online providers (TIPS, ServSafe Alcohol, StateFoodSafety, Rserving…) | 60 days · 3 years | No state fee; ~$10–$30 online | 18 / 18 | HB 157 (Jan 1, 2026) splits RASS into 2-hour on-premises and 1-hour off-premises courses | MCA 16-4-1001 to -1010 |
| Nevada | Some (every server, seller and security guard in Clark County (Las Vegas) and Washoe County (Reno); smaller counties can opt in) | Alcohol Education Card from a CPE-certified program (TAM of Nevada, AATNV, Nevada Restaurant Association…); online course allowed, exam proctored in person | Before hire or within 30 days · 4 years (non-renewable; retake) | Course capped at $40 | 21 / 21 (county codes) | Fines $500 / $1,000 / $5,000 for the owner | NRS 369.600–369.635 |
| New Mexico | Yes, statewide | New Mexico Alcohol Server Permit: NM-specific course (4.5 hours) from an approved provider → RLD permit; generic TIPS/ServSafe NOT accepted | 30 days (120-day temporary permit) · 3 years | No permit fee stated; course ~$20–$40 | 18 / 21 | Permit carried on duty; applies on- and off-premises | NMSA §§60-6E-1 to -8; 15.11.31 NMAC |
| Oregon | Yes, statewide | OLCC Alcohol Service Permit: OLCC-approved course (Spanish and Chinese available) + OLCC test | Before serving (HB 4138 ended the 45-day grace period on March 31, 2025) · 5 years | $23 permit + ~$15–$30 course | 18 (minor service permit, food areas only) / 21 | Not required for kitchen, bussers, hosts who take no drink orders | ORS 471.360, 471.375; OAR 845-009 |
| Utah | Yes, statewide | DABS Alcohol Training and Education Seminar through DABS-approved trainers (on-premises); E.A.S.Y. for off-premises; separate manager course | Before beginning work (HB 361, May 7, 2025; was 30 days) · 3 years | ~$20–$40 trainer-set | 21 / 21 (16+ may ring sales or bus) | Opioid-overdose content added in 2025 | Utah Code §32B-1-701 to -704; §26B-5-205 |
| Washington | Yes, statewide | MAST permit (Class 12 managers/bartenders, Class 13 servers) from LCB-certified providers, minimum 3-hour course | 60 days · 5 years | ~$15–$30 (no LCB fee) | 18 (Class 13) / 21 (Class 12) | 18–20 need a 21+ supervisor on duty and cannot work bar-only premises; permits mailed, no temporary permit | RCW 66.20.300–.350; WAC 314-17 |
| Wyoming | No program (some cities require it by ordinance, e.g. Casper) | Free TIPS classes via the Wyoming State Liquor Association; online TIPS | — · TIPS 3 years | Free (WSLA) or ~$8–$40 | 18 in restaurants / 21 to mix or dispense | Check Cheyenne, Casper, Gillette and Laramie ordinances | W.S. §12-6-101 |
A note on vendor "state requirements" pages. The course companies publish their own state lists. On the day we checked, several gave Illinois a 30-day deadline (the statute says 120), listed Pima County-style "required" states that have no mandate, implied that a TIPS card alone is enough in Oregon, Washington or New Mexico (it is not), or still showed Tennessee permits as five-year (two years since January 2025) and Delaware cards as four-year (two years since June 2026). Where a vendor page and the state rule disagree, the state rule governs, and that is what the table uses.
Big-city cheat sheet
Here is what a bartender or server actually needs in some of the biggest metros:
- Miami, Fort Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville (Florida): no state requirement, but almost every venue that is a Responsible Vendor will ask for a TIPS or ServSafe Alcohol certificate within 30 days (managers 15). You can serve and bartend at 18.
- Atlanta (Georgia): no state program; many cities and counties around Atlanta issue their own pouring permits with a required class, so the venue's city decides. Serve and bartend at 18.
- Houston, Dallas, Austin, San Antonio (Texas): TABC seller-server certification is voluntary in law and universal in practice because of the employer safe harbor; any TABC-approved online school ($9–$15), good for 2 years. Serve and bartend at 18.
- Phoenix (Arizona): Title 4 Basic training is required only when the state orders it, but most Maricopa County employers require it; approved online course, 3 years. Serve and bartend at 18.
- Las Vegas (Clark County, Nevada): the Nevada Alcohol Education Card is mandatory for every server, seller and security guard; take a state-certified awareness program (course online, exam proctored in person), before hire or within 30 days, card good 4 years and not renewable. You must be 21 to serve or bartend.
- Charlotte (North Carolina): the permit holder must be trained, servers are not; the free NC ABC RASP course is the easy win. Serve at 18, mix spirits at 21.
- Nashville (Tennessee): TABC server permit required within 61 days at any liquor-by-the-drink venue: certified course ($25–$40) plus the $20 permit, now valid 2 years. Serve and bartend at 18.
- Chicago (Illinois): BASSET required within 120 days, any ILCC-licensed online course ($10–$25), 3 years; Chicago lets under-21 staff serve only in restaurants, not taverns.
- Denver (Colorado): voluntary, but Responsible Vendor venues train everyone within 90 days through an LED-approved trainer in a classroom or live stream (self-paced online does not count); 2 years. Serve at 18 with a 21+ supervisor on site.
- Los Angeles and Riverside (California): RBS is mandatory: approved course plus the ABC exam ($3) within 60 days, 3 years. Serve at 18 in the dining area; bartend at 21.
- Columbus (Ohio): voluntary; the free OIU "ASK" course covers it. Serve at 18; pour beer at 19 and wine or spirits at 21 across the bar.
- Indianapolis (Indiana): mandatory: ATC employee permit ($45, 3 years) plus certified training within 120 days (the ATC's own course is free). Serve at 18 in dining areas with a restricted permit; bartend at 21.
- New York City: voluntary ATAP course ($15–$30, 3 years) earns the venue a lighter penalty; serve and bartend at 18.
- Philadelphia (Pennsylvania): RAMP server/seller training is mandatory within 6 months of hire for anyone hired since 2016, 2 years; PLCB classes are free. Serve and bartend at 18.
- Washington, DC: only ABC Managers must be certified; servers and bartenders are not. Serve at 18, bartend at 21.
- Boston (Massachusetts): no state mandate, but the city licensing board and most towns condition licenses on TIPS or ServSafe for managers and usually all staff. Serve and bartend at 18.
If you want bar or banquet shifts: what to do this week
Find your state in the table and buy the right course. In Illinois, Pennsylvania, Texas, Florida, Tennessee, Rhode Island, Montana, Louisiana, Indiana, Delaware, Alaska, South Carolina and Washington, a TIPS or ServSafe Alcohol course from an approved provider is the normal route. In California add the ABC exam; in Oregon, New Mexico, Utah, Vermont, Oklahoma and the Nevada counties take the state or county course, not the generic one.
Do it before your first shift even where the law gives you 30 to 180 days. Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Oklahoma, Las Vegas and Lincoln already require it before you serve, and dispatchers everywhere fill bar shifts with the workers whose cards are on file.
Know your pouring age. Many venues want bartenders who can mix spirits; in California, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, Alaska, Virginia, the Carolinas, Missouri, Kansas, Alabama, DC and Wyoming that means 21. If you are 18 to 20 in those states, you can still take server, barback and banquet shifts; see the barback and banquet server pages.
Pair it with the food handler card. Bartenders and servers at restaurants handle garnishes, glassware and food; nine states require a food handler card for every food worker and the rest leave it to the employer. Our food handler card by state guide lists the rule for every state.
Photograph the card and note the expiry. Tennessee, Texas, Pennsylvania, Vermont and Delaware cards expire in 2 years; most others in 3 to 5. A lapsed Nevada card means retaking the whole program.
Then apply with us and tell us which state or county issued your permit and when it expires. See the bartender role page for pay ranges and what a typical shift looks like, the server, catering server and concessions worker pages for the other roles that pour, and what to wear and bring to your first event shift.
Picking up construction or road work between events? See flagger certification by state.
For bars, caterers and venues: ordering crews that are legal to pour on day one
Three things follow from the table. First, the permit attaches to the state and sometimes the county of the venue, not the worker's home. A Texas-certified bartender working a Las Vegas convention needs a Nevada Alcohol Education Card; a Florida banquet server at a Nashville gala needs a TABC server permit within 61 days. Tell the agency where the event is. Second, age limits decide who can work the bar. Order "bartenders 21+" in the 21-to-pour states and "servers 18+" for the floor, and the right crew shows up. Third, the incentive states reward you for training everyone. In Texas, Florida, Colorado, Iowa, Virginia, New York and Ohio the law reduces or waives penalties when your staff, including temps, hold the card, so put the requirement on the order.
Crew Staffing Pros places bartenders, servers and banquet staff as W-2 employees with workers' comp, verifies alcohol server permits, food handler cards and expiration dates before dispatch (put the requirement on your order), and keeps the copies on file for your inspection records. See event staffing, restaurant and hospitality staffing, or request a crew.
Quick answers
Do bartenders need a license?
In 17 states every on-premises server or bartender must hold a state permit or complete approved training (Alaska, California, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington). In 15 more it depends on your role, age or city; in 10 it is voluntary with a legal incentive that makes employers require it; in 9 there is no state program.
Is TIPS the same as ServSafe Alcohol?
No. TIPS is a private program sold through 360training; ServSafe Alcohol is the National Restaurant Association's course and exam. Both are accepted as approved courses in most states that name providers, but neither is a substitute for a state permit where one exists (Oregon, Washington, Oklahoma, Tennessee, New Mexico, Indiana, Louisiana, California's ABC exam), and New Mexico, Utah, Vermont, Honolulu and Nevada's counties require their own course.
How long do I have after I'm hired?
Before your first shift in Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Oklahoma, Las Vegas and Lincoln; 30 days in Alaska, Delaware, New Mexico and South Carolina; 45 in Louisiana; 60 in California, Montana, Washington and Rhode Island; 61 in Tennessee; 120 in Illinois and Indiana; 6 months in Pennsylvania.
How much does alcohol server certification cost?
Usually $9 to $40 for the course plus a state fee of $0 to $45: California's exam is $3, Tennessee's permit $20, Oregon's $23, Vermont's seminar $25, Oklahoma's license $30, Indiana's employee permit $45. Indiana, Iowa, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio and Virginia offer the course free.
How long does the card last?
2 years in Delaware, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas and Vermont; 3 in California, Illinois, Indiana, Montana, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Carolina and Utah; 4 in Louisiana, Maryland and Nevada; 5 in Oregon and Washington.
How old do you have to be to bartend?
18 in most states, including Florida, Texas, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, New York, Massachusetts and Georgia; 21 to mix or pour spirits in California, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, Alaska, Virginia, North and South Carolina, Missouri, Kansas, Alabama, DC and Wyoming; 19 in Arkansas, Idaho and Nebraska; 20 in Kentucky.
Does my alcohol server card work in another state?
Rarely. State permits (Oregon, Washington, Tennessee, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Indiana, Louisiana, California) are state-specific. A TIPS or ServSafe Alcohol certificate usually satisfies another state that accepts that provider, but check the state's approved list and whether a state exam or permit is also required.
This guide is general information for workers and employers, not legal advice. Requirements were checked against state liquor statutes, administrative codes and liquor-control agency pages on October 2, 2026; states, counties and cities revise these, so confirm with the state liquor authority or the venue before a shift. Where a rule does not state a card term, follow the issuing program's expiration date.
Ready to work?
Get shifts. Get paid next day.
Apply online in a few minutes. No resume, no sign-up fees. Pick the shifts that fit your life and climb the crew tiers.
This guide is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Rules vary by state and change over time. Rates and pay shown are estimates; a dispatcher confirms your actual rate.