On this page
- 1.What this guide covers
- 2.The short version
- 3.How flagger certification works
- 4.Flagger certification requirements by state
- 5.Reciprocity: where one card works in more than one state
- 6.If you are new to flagging: what to do this week
- 7.For contractors and utilities: ordering certified flaggers
- 8.Quick answers
Flagging is one of the fastest ways into paid construction and utility work, and in most of the country you need a training card before a crew can put you at the paddle. The problem is that "flagger certification" means something different in almost every state: some accept the national ATSSA or National Safety Council card, some only accept their own course, some accept a neighbor's card, and a few have no statewide rule at all.
What this guide covers
This guide sorts it out. We read the current state DOT specifications, statutes and training pages for all 50 states and Washington, DC (checked September 30, 2026) and put the answer for each in one table: is a card required on state highway work, which training counts, how long it lasts, and whether another state's card is accepted. Below the table you will find how the national programs work, the reciprocity map, and what to do first if you want flagging work this month.
Two things before you scroll. First, the rules below are the state DOT's rules for work on state highways. Cities, counties, utilities and private owners can require more, and most require at least the same. Second, these specs change; every row names the spec or policy we read so you or your employer can confirm before a job.
The short version
- Most states require a card. By our count, 40 states plus DC require a flagger training card, certificate or written verification on state DOT work. Seven more require documented training without a formal statewide card (Alabama, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, and Hawaii by contract), and three (Ohio, Oklahoma, Arkansas) leave the choice of program to the contractor or project owner.
- The two national cards are ATSSA and NSC. The American Traffic Safety Services Association (ATSSA) and the National Safety Council (NSC) flagger courses are accepted, or are the basis of the state course, in the large majority of states. An ATSSA card is normally good for 4 years.
- A handful of states run their own program and do not accept a plain national card: Florida, North Carolina, Minnesota, South Dakota, California on Caltrans work, and Oregon and Washington (which accept each other's cards but not the national one). If you plan to work in one of these, take that state's course.
- Card life runs from 2 to 4 years. Colorado, Massachusetts, Wisconsin, Vermont, Rhode Island, Nebraska, South Dakota and Kentucky work on a 2-year cycle; most others are 3 or 4 years.
- Online courses are often not accepted. Florida, Georgia, Texas, Nevada, Illinois, California, Idaho, Montana, Mississippi, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington and Rhode Island want in-person training. Check before you pay for an online class.
- You must be 18 wherever a minimum age is written (Colorado, Massachusetts, Nevada, South Dakota, Oregon, Washington, Utah), and every training provider we checked requires it.
How flagger certification works
The federal baseline is training, not a card. The Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD, 11th Edition, December 2023) says in Section 6D.01 that flaggers should be trained in proper traffic control practices and public contact, and lists the abilities a flagger has to demonstrate: receive and communicate instructions, move quickly to avoid an errant vehicle, control the STOP/SLOW paddle, apply traffic control practices under stress, and recognize dangerous situations in time to warn the crew. That is guidance. The requirement for a specific course and a card comes from each state's statute or DOT specification, and from project owners.
The ATSSA flagger course is a minimum 4-hour class (about 3.5 hours of instruction plus a hands-on paddle demonstration and a written exam, passing score 70% under ATSSA's model specification), taught by an ATSSA-certified flagger instructor. The card carries an 11-character serial number that anyone can check on ATSSA's Flagger Verification Search, and ATSSA's model language sets recertification at 4 years. Some states issue a state-specific ATSSA card (North Carolina, Massachusetts, California, Colorado, Maryland, Georgia through the NSC chapter) that adds the state's own rules to the national course.
The NSC Work Zone Flagger course is the other national program, also 4 hours, and is named alongside ATSSA in Georgia, Arizona, Tennessee, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York and others.
State courses exist where the DOT wants its own content: Florida's Temporary Traffic Control (MOT) program, NCDOT's approved flagger course, Oregon's certified flagger card administered by Chemeketa Community College, Washington's flagger card (Evergreen Safety Council is the largest provider), MnDOT's train-the-trainer program, the South Dakota DOT online course, and the Wyoming Flaggers Traffic Control Certification.
What the card gets you. A flagger card is a prerequisite, not a job. Employers still need you to show up on time, stand a full shift in the weather, communicate clearly and follow the traffic control plan. Many sites also want an OSHA 10 card for everyone on the job; OSHA 10 explained covers that. If you are new to construction work, our guide to flagger staffing for road and utility work shows what contractors expect from a flagger on day one.
Flagger certification requirements by state
How to read the table. Required? is whether the state DOT requires a training card or certificate for flaggers on state highway projects. Accepted training is what the state names; "ATSSA or NSC" means the national cards work. Card life is the renewal cycle where the state states one. Reciprocity / notes covers whether another state's card is accepted and any traps. Sources are the state spec or policy we read; the section number is given so you can find it.
Rules checked on September 30, 2026. The table is split by region; find your state, then confirm with the state DOT or the project owner before a job.
Northeast
| State | Required on state DOT work? | Accepted training | Card life | Reciprocity / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | Yes | ATSSA, NSC, Evergreen Safety Council, American Public Safety Association, New England Laborers' Training Academy | Per issuing program | A copy of the certificate goes to the Engineer before work starts | CTDOT Form 818 (July 2023) §9.70.03-2; CTDOT Acceptable Flagger Programs page |
| Maine | Yes on MaineDOT work | MaineDOT-approved test given by the employer's approved Flagger Certifier; employer-issued card | Not stated | Non-DOT roads: MUTCD-consistent training (23 MRSA §707) | MaineDOT Standard Specification §652.4 |
| Massachusetts | Yes, on all public roads | MassDOT-approved programs (ATSSA, NSC, HazCompliance, UMass Bay State Roads and others); includes First Aid/CPR; 50-question exam, 80% | 2 years; refresher in the month before expiry | Must be 18 | 700 CMR 6.00; MassDOT approved-programs list (Nov 2025) |
| New Hampshire | Yes | Training by a designated trainer with a card or certificate; UNH T2 offers the ATSSA course | 4 years | Employer-trained flaggers must be retrained when they change employers unless they hold their own ATSSA card | NHDOT Standard Specifications 2016, §618 3.3 |
| New Jersey | Formal training required; no state card | Any formal flagging training; competency demonstrated to the Resident Engineer on request | Not stated | ATSSA online not accepted on state projects | NJDOT Standard Specifications §159.03.08 (BDC23S-02, 2023) |
| New York | Yes: trained flaggers, and the contractor gives the Engineer a list of certified flaggers | ATSSA, NSC, unions, construction industry associations, or a certified flagger instructor | Not stated | Virtual training accepted | NYSDOT Standard Specifications §619-3.01 L.1 |
| Pennsylvania | Yes | Any course meeting PennDOT's minimum flagger training guidelines; wallet card or employer roster | 3 years | No PennDOT-approved-provider list; ATSSA cards are common | PennDOT Publication 408, §901.3(y); Publication 213 |
| Rhode Island | Yes | ATSSA or NSC flagger course, in person only | 2 years | RIDOT Work Zone training policy tables (Sept 2026); RI Standard Spec §914 | |
| Vermont | Yes | 4-hour course taught by an instructor trained by AGC of Vermont, ATSSA or NSC | 2 years | VTrans Standard Specifications 2024, §630.04 |
Midwest
| State | Required on state DOT work? | Accepted training | Card life | Reciprocity / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois | Yes | Agencies approved by IDOT: ATSSA, NSC, Illinois Laborers'-Contractors' Joint Apprenticeship Program; IDOT T2 (public employees) | Not stated in spec | Carry a driver's license or state ID with the card; online not accepted | IDOT Standard Specifications 2022, Art. 701.13 |
| Indiana | Partial: flagging must be supervised by the worksite traffic supervisor or an ATSSA-certified flagger; every flagger must be trained | ATSSA or approved equal (for the supervising flagger) | Not stated | Employers usually put every flagger through ATSSA anyway | INDOT Standard Specifications 2024, §801.15(b) |
| Iowa | Yes: contractor-issued flagger training card | Contractor training using the free Iowa DOT Flagger Training Materials | Expires Dec 31 of the year after training | Carry the card and show it on request; ATSSA online not accepted | Iowa DOT Standard Specifications §2528.03,J |
| Kansas | Yes | Any course covering MUTCD Part 6 plus the KDOT Flagger Handbook (KDOT materials, ATSSA) | 3 years | Card must show name and training date | KDOT Standard Specifications 2015, §805.3 j.(1) |
| Michigan | No card; annual training documented by the contractor | MDOT video "How to Safely Regulate Traffic in Michigan" plus the Traffic Regulators Instruction Manual | Annual | ATSSA card useful but not required | MDOT Standard Specifications 2020, §812.03.G.8 |
| Minnesota | Yes on MnDOT projects: trained by a MnDOT Qualified Flagger Trainer | MnDOT trainer program only; the trainer signs the card in the flagger handbook | Contractor decides; annual recommended | Does not accept other states' cards, ATSSA, NSC or online training | MnDOT traffic control special provision; MnDOT flagger training pages |
| Missouri | Yes | Card from an OSHA "qualified person" trainer showing trainer, agency and date | 4 years | Emergency exemption only | MoDOT Standard Specifications 2025, §616.4.3 |
| Nebraska | Yes | LTAP, NSC or ATSSA course plus the NDOT exam (80%); certification recorded in NDOT's database | 2 years | An ATSSA online card alone is not enough | NDOT / Nebraska LTAP Flagger Certification program |
| North Dakota | Yes: pass the North Dakota Safety Council written exam | NDSC online flagger training ($10) | No formal renewal | Contractor gives the Engineer written verification | NDDOT Standard Specifications 2025, §704.04 C.5 |
| Ohio | No statewide flagger card rule | Contractor or owner decides (ATSSA and Ohio Laborers Training available) | Not applicable | Many owners still require ATSSA | ODOT C&MS 2023, §614.08 (silent on certification); Ohio LTAP |
| South Dakota | Yes | SDDOT flagger course and exam (free, online) or AGC | 2 years | Must be certified in South Dakota; must be 18 | SDDOT Standard Specifications 2025, §634.3 C |
| Wisconsin | Yes, on state highways since Jan 1, 2020 | Training per the 2020 Wisconsin Flagging Handbook (4 hours class plus 8 hours field); MnDOT, NSC, ATSSA and Evergreen cards accepted if they cover Wisconsin content | 2 years (2-hour refresher) | WisDOT Standard Specifications §104.6.1.2.2; WisDOT flagger certification requirement (2020) |
South and Washington, DC
| State | Required on state DOT work? | Accepted training | Card life | Reciprocity / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Training required, no named card. Contractor must train traffic control personnel and keep records | Contractor's program; ATSSA recognized | Not set | Contractor signs a training certification at preconstruction | ALDOT Standard Specifications 2022, §740.03(a)7 |
| Arkansas | No statewide card; "properly attired and trained flaggers"; the Traffic Control Supervisor must be ATSSA or Arkansas AGC certified | Contractor decides | Not set | New spec book expected 2027 | ARDOT Standard Specification 2014, §603.02 |
| Delaware | Yes, on all state-maintained roads including utility work | ATSSA classroom or online; OnlineFlagger.com ATSSA course; LIUNA Work Zone Safety Program | Per issuing program | Carry the card and photo ID at all times | Delaware MUTCD §6E.01; DelDOT "Acceptable Flagger Certification" memo |
| District of Columbia | Yes on DDOT contracts | ATSSA, or another agency approved by the District | Per issuing program | Carry the card at all times | DDOT Standard Specifications 2013, §612.02(B)(2) and §612.21(B) |
| Florida | Yes | FDOT Temporary Traffic Control (MOT) program only: Flagger (Basic), Intermediate or Advanced, from an FDOT-approved provider | 4 years; refresher required, full course if expired | A national ATSSA card alone does not count; online not accepted | FDOT Standard Specifications FY 2025-26, §105-8.3; FDOT TTC Training Handbook |
| Georgia | Yes, on the entire State Highway System including utility and permit work | ATSSA or NSC (the NSC Southeastern Chapter issues the Georgia Flagger Certification Card) | Per issuing program (GDOT does not set a term) | Online classes not accepted; work is suspended until a certified flagger is provided | GDOT Policy 5250-1 (reviewed Mar 2022); Special Provision Section 150, §150.3.07 |
| Kentucky | Yes, proof of training | Training in current MUTCD flagging procedures; no program named (ATSSA recognized) | Credentials current within 2 years | Proof available for review on request | KYTC Standard Specifications 2026, §112.03.01 |
| Louisiana | "Qualified" flaggers required | ATSSA courses, or a course approved by the LADOTD Work Zone Task Force | Not stated | Flaggers are not used on the Interstate | LADOTD Standard Plan TTC-00 general notes (Feb 2025) |
| Maryland | Yes | ATSSA flagger course by approved ATSSA instructors; Maryland-specific course preferred | 4 years | ATSSA training from other states accepted | MDOT SHA Standard Specifications 2026, §104.15.01 |
| Mississippi | Yes | ATSSA; industry-association training recognized by MDOT; MDOT training | 4 years | Carry proof of certification and ID; ATSSA online not accepted | MDOT Standard Specifications 2017, §618.03.2 |
| North Carolina | Yes | NCDOT-approved flagger course only | 4 years | Virginia or South Carolina certification gets a 1-year temporary NC certification; virtual not accepted | NCDOT Work Zone Safety Qualification and Training Program (update effective July 2021) |
| Oklahoma | No spec requirement | Contractor or owner decides | Not applicable | ODOT Standard Specifications 2019, §880 | |
| South Carolina | Yes | SCDOT-approved providers: ATSSA, NSC Southeastern Chapter, ITRE, J.M. Teague, Tri-County Technical College, Carolinas AGC instructors | Refresher every 5 years indicated | Training by approved providers' affiliates in other states accepted; 60-day temporary acceptance for other prior training | SCDOT Work Zone Traffic Control Training requirements (2020–2021) |
| Tennessee | Yes | ATSSA, NSC, Tennessee Transportation Assistance Program (TTAP), ABET-accredited university programs, TDOT-reviewed contractor programs | 4 years (TTAP) | ATSSA online accepted | TDOT Standard Specifications (Apr 2026), §712.04.A |
| Texas | Yes: trained flaggers from TxDOT-approved courses | TxDOT Material Producer List: TEEX "Flaggers in Work Zones", NSC, UT Arlington "Qualified Flagger Training", ATSSA-certified instructors, LDI Safety Training | 4 years (UTA card; TxDOT does not state a term) | Contractor keeps a list of trained flaggers; ATSSA online not accepted | TxDOT Standard Specifications 2024, Item 7 §7.2.6.5 and Item 502 |
| Virginia | Yes | ATSSA Flagger certification (classroom or online) since Dec 31, 2024; VDOT Basic or Intermediate Work Zone cards | 4 years | Accepts ATSSA state-specific cards (NC, MA, CA, CO); flagger must appear in ATSSA's online database | VDOT Flagger Certification memo (Dec 2023); Road and Bridge Specifications §105.14 |
| West Virginia | Yes | ATSSA flagger training | Not stated | WVDOH Standard Specifications 2023, §636.11.1 |
West
| State | Required on state DOT work? | Accepted training | Card life | Reciprocity / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | Yes | ATSSA Flagger; LIUNA Flagger or Traffic Control Technician; IMSA Work Zone TTC Technician (IMSA not accepted after Dec 31, 2026) | Per issuing program | Must show certification any time on the project | DOT&PF Standard Modification HSM20-45 to §643 (Jan 2024) |
| Arizona | Yes, by statute and spec | ATSSA or NSC; other programs need the Engineer's approval | 4 years | National cards accepted | A.R.S. §28-653; ADOT Standard Specifications 2021, §701-3.13 |
| California | Yes on Caltrans work; Cal/OSHA requires flagger training on every job | Caltrans-authorized flagger training providers only (since Jan 1, 2022); minimum 4 hours in person, 80% written test plus demonstration | Not stated by Caltrans; ask the provider | Online courses not accepted; a plain national card does not satisfy Caltrans | Caltrans CPD 21-8 and Standard Specifications §12-4.02C(9); 8 CCR §1599 |
| Colorado | Yes, by statute | CDOT-approved Flagger Training Entities; ATSSA and NSC cards are valid | 2 years (ATSSA/NSC cards are also capped at 2 years in Colorado) | Must be 18 | C.R.S. §43-5-308; CDOT Flagger Program and Flagger Training Manual (Jan 2026) |
| Hawaii | Required in HDOT traffic-control contracts; no statewide spec clause found | "Nationally recognized" flagger certification (ATSSA or NSC) | Within 4 years per contract language | Confirm with the contract | HDOT Highways solicitations (2021); ATSSA state list |
| Idaho | Yes | ATSSA, Evergreen Safety Council or NSC; in-person only since Mar 1, 2024 | 3 years | Accepts Montana, Oregon, Utah and Washington DOT cards | ITD memorandum, Jan 31, 2024 |
| Montana | Yes | Montana LTAP; ATSSA; Idaho, Oregon and Washington DOT cards | 3 years | Reciprocity with ID, OR, WA; ATSSA online not accepted | MDT Flagger Handbook (2021), §3 |
| Nevada | Yes | Course conducted or approved by NDOT (Laborers' training programs in Reno and Las Vegas) | Not stated | Must be 18 and communicate clearly; ATSSA online not accepted | NDOT Standard Specifications 2014, §624.03.03 |
| New Mexico | Yes | ATSSA, Associated Contractors of New Mexico, FHWA or an NMDOT-approved provider | 4 years | Wallet card submitted before flagging starts | NMDOT Standard Specifications 2019, §618.2.1 |
| Oregon | Yes | Oregon Certified Flagger card (ODOT program administered by Chemeketa Community College); Washington, Idaho or Montana cards | 3 years | Must be 18 with a valid driver's license; 4-hour classroom course, 80% exam | ODOT Standard Specifications 2024, §00223.30 |
| Utah | Yes | Course from a UDOT-certified flagger instructor (Utah LTAP delivers ATSSA) | 3 years | Must be 18; in-house utility certifications only valid for that employer | UDOT Flagger Handbook (Jan 2025), §3; Standard Specification 01554 |
| Washington | Yes, on every flagging job (state safety rule) | Washington Traffic Control Flagger Card (Evergreen Safety Council and other approved providers; 8 hours in person) | 3 years | Accepts Oregon, Idaho and Montana cards; must be 18 | WAC 296-155-305(6); WSDOT Flagging Operations Manual M 3146 (June 2026) |
| Wyoming | Yes | Wyoming Flaggers Traffic Control Certification (WYT2 online, $40) or ATSSA | 3 years | Three-day grace period in an unplanned emergency | WYDOT Standard Specifications 2021, §703.4.6 |
A note on the ATSSA state list. ATSSA publishes its own state-by-state summary, and it is a useful starting point, but on the day we checked it said "certification is not required" for several states whose current DOT spec does require a training card (Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Missouri, North Dakota, South Carolina, California). Where the two disagree, the DOT spec governs, and that is what the table uses.
Reciprocity: where one card works in more than one state
The Pacific Northwest block. Washington, Oregon, Idaho and Montana accept each other's DOT flagger cards; Idaho also accepts Utah's. This is written into WAC 296-155-305, ODOT's 2024 specifications, the ITD memorandum of January 2024 and the MDT Flagger Handbook. If you live near a state line in this region, one card covers you across it.
The national ATSSA card is accepted as-is in Arizona, Georgia, Tennessee, New York, Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Illinois, Maryland, Mississippi, New Mexico, Rhode Island (in person), Virginia, West Virginia, Alaska, Colorado (2-year cap), Idaho, Montana and Wyoming, and it satisfies the "trained flagger" rule in the states that do not name a program.
State-specific ATSSA cards cross some lines: Virginia accepts the NC, MA, CA and CO versions; Maryland accepts ATSSA training from other states; North Carolina converts a Virginia or South Carolina certification into a one-year temporary NC card; South Carolina accepts training by its approved providers' out-of-state affiliates.
No reciprocity: Minnesota and South Dakota accept only their own certification, Florida and North Carolina accept only their own courses, and Caltrans accepts only its authorized providers. Plan to take the local course before you look for work there.
If you are new to flagging: what to do this week
Pick the state you will actually work in. Use the table above. If it is Florida, book an FDOT-approved Flagger (Basic MOT) class; if it is Georgia, Texas, Arizona, Tennessee, Illinois or the Northeast, an in-person ATSSA or NSC flagger class; if it is Oregon or Washington, the state flagger card class.
Bring what the class requires. A government photo ID (Delaware and Illinois require you to carry it on the job too), proof that you are 18, and comfortable clothes for the outdoor paddle demonstration. Most classes run 4 hours; Washington's runs 8; Wisconsin adds 8 hours of field time.
Budget for it. Where prices are published they run from free (South Dakota's online course, Iowa's materials, Nebraska LTAP) to about $10–$75 for state or safety-council classes (North Dakota $10, Wyoming $40, Montana LTAP $60, Tennessee TTAP $75) and $150–$260 for private or university-run classes in some states (University of Florida T2 lists $165–$214 for the FDOT flagger course; Associated Pennsylvania Constructors $176–$259 for the PennDOT flagger course). Ask whether an employer will reimburse; many contractors and staffing agencies do for workers who commit to shifts.
Add an OSHA 10 card if you can. It is not a flagging certification, but it is the most common extra requirement on construction sites, and it makes you eligible for laborer shifts on days when no flagging is available. See OSHA 10 explained.
Keep your card on you and photograph it. Almost every state in the table requires the card on your person while flagging, and dispatchers will ask for a photo of it before your first shift. Note the expiration date in your phone; a lapsed card in Florida means the full course again, not a refresher.
Then apply with us and tell us which state's card you hold and its expiration date. See the flagger role page for pay ranges and what a typical shift looks like, and how to get hired fast through a staffing agency for the paperwork that speeds up your first shift.
Working other shifts between flagging jobs? Our food handler card guide and alcohol server certification guide cover the cards for restaurant, bar and event work.
For contractors and utilities: ordering certified flaggers
Three practical rules follow from the table. First, order by state, not by "certified." A flagger with a Georgia NSC card is not certified for FDOT work an hour south; tell the agency the state and the owner (state DOT, county, utility, private) so the right cards show up. Second, ask for the expiration date, not just the card. Cycles run 2 to 4 years and several states have no grace period. Third, carry the roster. Kansas, Pennsylvania, New York, Texas and Wyoming let the contractor keep a list of trained flaggers on site; the Engineer will ask for it.
Crew Staffing Pros places flaggers as W-2 employees with workers' comp, verifies the state certification and expiration date before dispatch, and keeps the copy on file for your project records. See construction staffing, how to order flaggers who show up ready, or request a crew.
Quick answers
Do I need a certification to be a flagger?
In most states, yes for work on state highways, and most cities, counties and utilities require the same card. Forty states plus DC require a training card, certificate or written verification on state DOT work; the rest require documented training or leave it to the contractor. See the table for your state.
How long does flagger certification last?
Two to four years depending on the state: 2 years in Colorado, Massachusetts, Wisconsin, Vermont, Rhode Island, Nebraska, South Dakota and Kentucky; 3 years in Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, Washington and Wyoming; 4 years in Arizona, Florida, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Virginia and under ATSSA's national program.
Is ATSSA flagger certification valid in every state?
No. It is accepted directly in about 20 states and satisfies the training rule in most others, but Florida, North Carolina, Minnesota and South Dakota require their own courses, Caltrans requires its authorized providers, Oregon and Washington require their state cards, and Colorado caps ATSSA cards at 2 years.
Can I take the flagger course online?
Only in some states. Virginia, Delaware, Tennessee and New York accept ATSSA's online course; North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska and Wyoming run or accept online courses with their own exam. Florida, Georgia, Texas, Nevada, Illinois, California, Idaho, Montana, Mississippi, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington and Rhode Island require in-person training.
How much does flagger certification cost?
From free to about $260. State and safety-council courses are typically $10–$75; private ATSSA classes run roughly $75–$260 depending on the state and provider. Employers often reimburse the fee for workers who commit to shifts.
How old do you have to be to flag?
Eighteen. Colorado, Massachusetts, Nevada, South Dakota, Oregon, Washington and Utah write it into the rule, and every training provider we checked requires it.
This guide is general information for workers and contractors, not legal advice. Requirements were checked against state DOT specifications, statutes and training pages on September 30, 2026; states revise their spec books, so confirm with the state DOT or project owner before a job. Where a state does not publish a card term, follow the issuing program's expiration date.
Ready to work?
Get shifts. Get paid next day.
Apply online in a few minutes. No resume, no sign-up fees. Pick the shifts that fit your life and climb the crew tiers.
This guide is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Rules vary by state and change over time. Rates and pay shown are estimates; a dispatcher confirms your actual rate.